1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Curtain LED lights control with Xlights

Discussion in 'Lights - Store Bought and Home Made' started by wanderanwills, Jul 21, 2017.

  1. wanderanwills

    wanderanwills New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Broome
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    They mention that they are 31V, so you should be able to cut the supplied controller off and wire those lights into a standard DC board.

    That's exactly what I've done with net lights before. You will need a suitable power supply of course.
     
  3. marmalade

    marmalade cats & pixels

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    newcastle
    might be the type of string where every second led is reverse polarity, which makes it a bit more difficult!
     
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Still not a big problem. Just use one of the Hanson Electronics DMX 2-wire boards. :)
     
  5. marmalade

    marmalade cats & pixels

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    newcastle
    some theory from the string master himself, thanks David!

    http://www.da-share.com/circuits/2-wire-led-strings/

    In which case an L298 stepper driver board would probably work, and drive 2 separate strings for 4 discrete inputs (from a suitable xlights controller)

    Ordered one to try out :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2017
  6. Homer2014

    Homer2014 Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Broome
    Find Me On:
    Gday Stephen , Going by the photos you would probably need a Dmx36 or similar as it looks like the lights have 4 channels ie 5 wires going to the lights. You may need to give them more than 31vdc to get same brightness as the original plug pack.

    Cheers
     
  7. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    The ones marked as 31V are actually 31V DC as far as I know, so no need to increase voltage.

    The older style used iron cored 24V AC plugpacks, hence the need to increase for DC.

    All of the current ones that I've seen use switch-mode plugpacks so are DC.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    wanderanwills

    wanderanwills New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Broome
    Hi Everyone,

    Thank you for the replies and information, i will give it a try.

    Regards
    Stephen
     

Share This Page