Do any freeware sequencers work with LOR?

Discussion in 'Sequencers & Software Tools' started by xmaslightshow, Aug 15, 2014.

  1. xmaslightshow

    xmaslightshow New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    do any freeware sequencers work with LOR controllers out of the box?
     
  2. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    LOR controllers will work with any free software like vixen and HLS using the DMX output as the LOR controllers can use DMX input, so your choices of sequence programs can be anything as long as it supports the standard DMX protocol
     
  3. jcmarksafb

    jcmarksafb Hello from Christopher Creek Arizona

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christopher Creek Arizona
    xlights/nutcracker is free and will control LOR controllers.
     
  4. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Pretty well every sequencer (except lower and older versions of LOR) will generate DMX either through a usb-dmx dongle or via an E1.31 to DMX (and possibly pixel) bridge. As long as the LOR boards have late (latish) firmware in them they will run in dmx mode so all that would be required is to put in a crossover board or cable as most dmx outputs use the ESTA pinout rather than LOR.
     
  5. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
  6. OP
    OP
    xmaslightshow

    xmaslightshow New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    where do I get E1.31 to dmx convertor?.. just tried ebay.. no hits
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Just use your LOR dongle as it can also be used for DMX output
     
  8. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Options that I can think of easily are
    USB-DMX dongle
    Advatek Pixlite 16 -E1.31 to 16 pixel outputs and 4 DMX outputs
    J1Sys D2 - E1.31 to 2 DMX outputs
    J1Sys P12 - E1.31 to 12 pixel outputs and 1 DMX output
     
  9. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
  10. Ɠαяєтн

    Ɠαяєтн Mae gen i C.L.A.P ei heintus iawn

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Landsdale, Perth, Western Australia
    I think the J1Sys EGC-P12S has no DMX outputs, where the EGC-P12R has 2.
     
  11. BundyRoy

    BundyRoy Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think the advatek pixlite 4 has 4 pixel outputs and 1 dmx output as well. Bit cheaper than the 16 if that's all you needed.
     
  12. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    If you are only wanting to use your LOR controllers in DMX and not using any pixels then give your LOR dongle a try using DMX. The LOR dongle is compatible as an open DMX dongle.
    If you want to use pixels as well then the choices already mentioned will do what you want as those controller also have a DMX output.
     
  13. davrus

    davrus Silent Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitianga
    Just remember - one dongle will give you one universe, so max 510 channels (170 pixels).


    If you want more than 510 then you need multiple dongles, or an E1.31 solution.
     
  14. Jamie

    Jamie Lighting up the night.

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Warwick
    Find Me On:

    I think it is the other way around.
     
  15. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    P12R is obsolete and you'll find more info at http://clap-supplies.yagoonalights.com/product/ecg-p12s/ than on J1Sys site
     

Share This Page