do yourselves a favour

bright spark

New elf
For sometime now I have been reading about the woes of the xmas lighting world, I've had a laugh and I've shook my head in tears. With such a growing community of enthusiants, who many sadly may not have a good understanding of electricity. I am an electrician by trade and my best advice to most is to forget shopping at BUNNINGS,or even JAYCAR or looking online for cheap deals. Your best bet is to try your local electrical wholesaler. Not only will you find better quality and cheaper than bunnings, last time I looked at bunnings they are 200% dearer (thats 3 times)!!! I order in spade lugs or quick connect as you may call them, through work at $11/100, which our wholesaler wouldn't be much more than that. Same goes for you cable, they are generally far cheaper. The best part is though, they sale people generally are electricians themselves and can be a valuable source of information. From tips about what type of cable would be best, to how to lug correctly. Speaking of which, go and get yourself a pair of ratcheting crimpers, they may be a little bit dear ($50) but they are the correct crimpers for insulated lugs and are well worth it.
I noticed some people giving tips on tinning the wire before crimping lugs, PLEASE DO NOT. Simply twist the strands together from the tip to hold them together when inserting into the lug and crimp. As you crimp, the lug and cable are squashed together and moulded into a tight bond. Tinning the ends only makes it hard, so when crimped may not mould itself with the lug and become a dry joint. Dry joints get HOT!