1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

'Dumb' RGB Lights Controller Advice

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by breast69au, Jun 19, 2012.

  1. breast69au

    breast69au Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi,

    Have decided on 'Dumb' RGB lighting for my mini trees. These are the lights

    http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/209889132-522236867/IP68-DC12V-input-12mm-through-hole-LED-channel-letter-RGB-color-100pcs-a-string.html

    After advise from David and eddy, I am going to need a max of 6amps to run each of these lights. I intend to run 9 sets of these lights, but am needing a controller/s capable of running them. After looking through the ACL Manual on all the different types of controllers available, i cant see anyone controller capable of controlling all the lights off one board. I have found this one thou

    http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/209915969-378113147/Easy-DMX-LED-controller-dmx-decoder-driver.html

    If i run one of these for each tree will this be ok??? and how do I link them to the one universe as it has no output do i just daisy chain them together???
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Those controllers should be ok for 100 dumb pixels each. The DMX wiring just loops in and out of each controller.
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    These will work ok for your application or else use the AVD 48 channel DC controller which will give you the outputs and the current capacity needed.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    breast69au

    breast69au Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Really??? If i want to run 9 of them thats combined total of 54amps, according to the manual its 20amps bank, 40 amps at most.
     
  5. Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    I ran 14 x 5m strips of RGB strip of an AVD 48 last year no problems
     
  6. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Brettus is using 100 counts dumb strings, not 5m strips though.

    Using one 3 channel controller in the base of each tree is one solution.

    You'd need to split the 8 tree load up into at least two DC boards. (DC24 for example)
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:

Share This Page