ECG-P12R & 2811 - Where does the combined Data&Clock Wire go?

Imacericg

New elf
Joined
Feb 3, 2012
Messages
22
Before I fry my new controller, I am testing a 2811 strip, which only has three wires (combined data&clock). On the controller, does that combined wire go in Data? Or Clock?


Thanks
Eric
 

Techster

New elf
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
5
Location
chantilly virginia
Imacericg said:
Before I fry my new controller, I am testing a 2811 strip, which only has three wires (combined data&clock). On the controller, does that combined wire go in Data? Or Clock?


Thanks
Eric
Just set up my ECG-P12R with 2811 and 2801, just thought I would FYI -- the speed of 3200 worked for my 2811 pixel strip - Good Luck and happy testing.
 

Imacericg

New elf
Joined
Feb 3, 2012
Messages
22
Andy_Harrison said:
Have a look at the using pixels with the P12 guide page 11. It should help out.

http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,2232.msg19220.html#msg19220

Sorry I didnt answer the question, the combined data and clock wire on 3 wire pixels goes into Data. I highly recommend you read through the above pdf for more info though.

Oh yes, I think I memorized the manual. Sounds like the answer is the combined wire goes into data. Thanks for your help!
 

Imacericg

New elf
Joined
Feb 3, 2012
Messages
22
Techster said:
Imacericg said:
Before I fry my new controller, I am testing a 2811 strip, which only has three wires (combined data&clock). On the controller, does that combined wire go in Data? Or Clock?


Thanks
Eric
Just set up my ECG-P12R with 2811 and 2801, just thought I would FYI -- the speed of 3200 worked for my 2811 pixel strip - Good Luck and happy testing.

My next question was speed. Thank you!!
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
Imacericg said:
Techster said:
Imacericg said:
Before I fry my new controller, I am testing a 2811 strip, which only has three wires (combined data&clock). On the controller, does that combined wire go in Data? Or Clock?


Thanks
Eric
Just set up my ECG-P12R with 2811 and 2801, just thought I would FYI -- the speed of 3200 worked for my 2811 pixel strip - Good Luck and happy testing.

My next question was speed. Thank you!!
Speed is really dependant on how far a distance you are running the first pixel from the controller. I used a lot of 10 metre extensions and with these the data speed had to be dropped to around 2000, so depending on distnace may determine the best speed needed.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
Either way works, dropping the speed has no visual effect on the performance of the strips, it just means you dont have to worry about making a lead with a dummy pixel.
 
Top