ECG-P2 and LOR S3 NOT Communicating

Dave H

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
62
Location
Clermont, Florida,
OK, originally had problems with my P-2 but was found that it was a bad Ethernet chip which Ed replaced. (that was a previous post from last month) Great customer service from J1SYS right before Thanksgiving!!

However, I am still having issues controlling the P-2 through LOR. I’ll try to provide the current overview:
  • Installed a separate Ethernet card in computer specifically for E1.31 use;
  • Connected to a 4 port switch which is then connected to the P-2;
  • Can connect to the P-2 using the default 10.10.10.10 address. There is one string of (50) WS2811 pixels connected and they cycle correctly through the test pattern; and
  • Created a short 45 second test sequence in LOR S3 – nothing worked (I’ll circle back to this).
Went to XLights
·
Could not run the P-2 in Xlights while in multicast. Switched to unicast and all test patterns contained in Xlights work; and
· Converted the LOR test sequence to a Xlights sequence and the test sequence runs in Xlights (under unicast only).
Now back to LOR
· USB-485B connected and open control panel. Com listener recognizes universe 1 and is “listening on port 5568”
· Under network preferences I have both the DMX listener port and E1.31 port set to 5568 (have tried this both with multicast and unicast 10.10.10.10);
· All of the 50 channels in the sequence are pointing to universe 1; and
· Click play (ensuring control lights is checked) and…………………………..NOTHING
Where am I going wrong??

Fortunately I am not doing a show this year so I am not pressed to get this resolved immediately but would like to be confident in being able to run some pixels next year.
 

Dave H

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
62
Location
Clermont, Florida,

Dave H

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
62
Location
Clermont, Florida,
EthConGateway String Statistics
IP Address: 10.10.10.10
Up Time: 0h 3m 49s
Group A (1): 334 per second
Group B (5): per second
Str
Packet
Pixel Cnt
String
Pixel Cnt
String
Byte Cnt
Univ
Updates
Univ
Overruns
Pixel
Updates
Pixel
Overruns
1
50
50
750
10756
256
10500
0
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
3
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
4
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
5
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
6
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
7
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
8
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
[/t][/t][/t][/t][/t][/t][/t]
 

ShellNZ

Senior elf
Joined
Jun 17, 2012
Messages
874
Location
Karaka, Auckland, NZ
OK, looks like the signal is getting through as the universe is updating.

Just to save a bit of time, as I dont have a lot of it at the moment, I can if you like Teamview (http://www.teamviewer.com) into your computer and have a look at settings.

If you want to do that install the above application then come into our Chatroom and give me the 9-digit ID and 4-digit password.
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,381
Location
Eaglehawk
Is the "control lights" remaining ticked? If it isn't then that is usually an indication that there is a universe or lor controller in the sequence that isn't being found.
To test connectivity and that there isn't a router/firewall issue I'd give da_e131 from http://www.da-share.com/software/da_e131/ a go. You can try it on unicast and multicast.
 

Dave H

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
62
Location
Clermont, Florida,
Thanks AAH,
Download the software and in Unicast mode, the controller works like a charm. Goes through the fades and chases without any issue. Switch over to Multimode amd not a thing happens.
 

starzen

New elf
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
44
Location
Stuart, Florida
possibly multicast blocked in your router. IMO better off using unicast anyway. I use multiple P2's and up to a few days ago used them with LOR without problem (except for a little lag here and there). Because of the lag I switched to FPP for my show computer
 

Dave H

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
62
Location
Clermont, Florida,
And your P2s work with LOR S3??
In unicast, multicast or both??
Did you have any problems with your setup??
 
Top