1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

ECG-P2 stopped working

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by Dave H, Nov 14, 2014.

  1. Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    I finally got around to testing my P-2 last week (not doing a display this year).

    It powered up fine, had one strand of 50 WS2811 connected.
    Was able to run the test pattern which I assume is the sequencing of all red, all green and all blue with a white chaser pixel going the length of the strand.

    Ran fine (in test mode) for a couple of days.
    However, during that time, I could not communicate with the P-2 through LOR S3. ( which is another issue)

    I went back the next day and the unit would not connect via the web browser. Checked all cables and NIC values. The green and yellow lights are solid on. Everytime I try to connect, I receive the message "waiting on 10.10.10.10 and then it shows an error.

    If I connect via the boot loader and USB cable, I get a flashing green light and I can manuver around and shows I connected. I can do edits while under USB. If I switch over to web based I get a message, "cannot find" or can't connect (or something close)

    Don't know if this is user error or something failed on the board.

    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    Once I get this resolved then we can address the fact the LOR S3 doesn't communicate nor operate the lights
     
  2. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    have you repowered it since and is it doing the same thing???
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    Yes, repowered numerous times over the past couple of evenings
     
  4. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    is the unit fused and can you take screen shot as it is easier to see what is happening then
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    Unit is not fused.
    Green and yellow lights are still on (both solid)
    Green will rapid flash while in boot loader under USB mode

    What type of screen shot are you requesting
     
  6. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    setup shots. I always fuse my p2 so they do not get a spike and fail
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    I can't even get the browser to connect with the P2, so I can't see or show anything
    The hardware setup is just the standard per all of the diagrams (not fused though) and the entire string of 40 WS2811 were working previously (in test mode only)
     
  8. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    you using 10.10.10.10 to access it??

    and have you got any shots of the ubl setup?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    Correct 10.10.10.10

    that is what was used previously

    Will take me a bit to get screen shot. Need to power up the other computer
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    OK Hopefully this helps
     

    Attached Files:

  11. OP
    OP
    Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    second sshot
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    what is your home network ip address??? and subnet mask
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    I'm plugged in directly to laptop

    IP: 10.10.10.30
    Sub Mask: 255.255.255.0
     
  14. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    I have never had much luck doing that try it through a router.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Dave H

    Dave H Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, Florida,
    The router is on the other computer and its set up at 192.168.1.103 I think I'll go pick up a switch (will need one anyway) and test it. Will let you know the out come in a day or so.

    Stay tuned and thank you for your support to this point
     

Share This Page