1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Elements located on two layers??

Discussion in 'LightShow Pro (LSP)' started by nutz4lights, Sep 18, 2013.

  1. nutz4lights

    nutz4lights Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    I am currently working through this in LSP, but I thought I would post a question at the same time to see if there are any expected issues with doing what I am currently testing...

    Can you take an RGB element that has let's say 10 stacked rows of 10 RGB pixels (30 channels) and do the following:

    1. Create one layer that has all 100 pixels from that element (300 channels total) [call it "Element_01"]
    2. Create subsequent layers that have just the channels from each of the rows [call these "Row_01", "Row_02", "Row_03", etc.]

    The reason I want to do this is that, there will be ten of these elements in a straight line across my display and I would like to be able to be able to address the whole element in some parts of the sequence, but then have the ability to address just the Row_XX sections of all ten elements simultaneously.

    Make sense?

    Picture ten mini trees, each of them with a bottom, middle and top section of RGB pixels. There are some parts of the sequence where I would like to have all ten mini trees fill up and down with light as a group and then other parts where I would like to simply turn the entire tree on as I pan left to right.

    Is there an issue having channels assigned to multiple layers?

    -Louie
     
  2. DeeJai

    DeeJai Is that Magic Smoke?!?

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    No longer in Radelaide
    yes this can be done, you can add elements to as many layers as you have.

    One option for your configuration, would be to use the Matrix tool, assuming all of these elements are the same size, then expand the matrix over the frontage you want. The matrix would obviously be the total number or pixels in rows x columns.
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    This is one of the great things when using LSP, you can create a layer with any combination of channels, elements or controllers, it doesnt matter, so working with thousands of channels becomes easy.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    nutz4lights

    nutz4lights Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, Florida
    Thanks guys! I finished laying it all out last night but had some fear that pressing the play button was going to cause the island from the show Lost to be blown to bits... :D
     
  5. ScottyJ

    ScottyJ New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    Just remember to type in 4, 8, 15, 16, 23 and 42 and you should be fine!


    Scott
     

Share This Page