First Year - Opinions Wanted!!

Callaidyn

New elf
Hi Everyone,
I am new to automating lights this year and have LOR AC Controllers (only 48 channels). For the last 5 years we have been putting up a traditional Christmas lights display and so have A LOT of lights (rope light designs, etc.).
I was interested in people's opinions on whether, for my first year, I should just incorporate my automated sequences into my traditional Christmas lights display (therefore would make the traditional display have everything steady-on) or if I should only have the automated lights. My "draw-card" for my automated lights this year will be a singing Santa Face. My fear is that there won't be "enough" lights (now that I am used to going crazy with volume of lights each year) with 48 channels. I have seen a Youtube video that did the combo (but can't find it now) and thought it did look OK.
Anyone's thoughts/opinions? And, if you do this yourself (i.e not all automated), could you please post video/link to Youtube, etc. of how your display looks?
Thanks!!

mborg10

Michael Borg
I would go with full automation. For your first year it doesn't really matter a great deal on channel count especially with existing motif lights as they already have a shape. 16 channels can look really good. 48 is better. If you go down the path of mixing automated with non-automated, it's hard to build tension in a sequence with complete blackness.

Last year was my first year full automated with 48 channels. Everyone loved it. But was no means as big as a lot of others. This year I'll be mixing pixels with traditional lights.

Whatever you do everyone loves Christmas lights and being different is what creates interest. Get creative. Think how you want your show to look and go for it. Remember we are our own worst critics.

http://youtu.be/e4MzfbflkxM

David_AVD

Grandpa Elf
Community project designer
Generous elf