Found these on Ebay - Enclosures

Bryan H

Bryan
Generous elf
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
166
Location
Tumut
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DS-EN-AG-2030-200X300X160-DSE-HIBOX-ENCLOSURE-BOX-IP66-ABS-HINGED-GREY-LID-/321083745250?hash=item4ac21523e2:g:XrEAAMXQs6FRNDKu

These are going for $77.50
I am sure there are cheaper ones out there... Just trolling for ideas on enclosures.. I have about 30 ones that I brought from Bunnings over the years, but find that they are not large enough to put power supplies and controllers together.

Any suggestions... I have my local electrical supplier assisting me as well.
Hammo

20130301160400.jpg
 

Kitman

Full time elf
Joined
Oct 25, 2014
Messages
395
Location
Munno Para
Those are sold by a company here in South Australia called Cookson Control, I have purchased all of my control boxes from them, they are a great little box and certainly fit a power supply and a Sandevice e682 in them with a raspberry pi and a little room to spare, I can show up some pictures if you like of one of these boxes filled with goodies.

The good part about the new version of those boxes is they already come with the mounting plate so no need to purchase that separately, you can also get them with a clear lid (I like the clear lids means I can see whats going on) and they also have a high fire rating.
 

darylc

404 darylc not found
Global moderator
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
774
These are DSE Hi-Box enclosures, I've got several of various sizes. They come in various plastics (eg for indoor use, outdoor use etc). Not cheap, but very nice enclosures.

This particular seller is Cookson Controls in Port Adelaide.

I've also seen them sold by http://switchesplus.com.au/
 

Bryan H

Bryan
Generous elf
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
166
Location
Tumut
Those are sold by a company here in South Australia called Cookson Control, I have purchased all of my control boxes from them, they are a great little box and certainly fit a power supply and a Sandevice e682 in them with a raspberry pi and a little room to spare, I can show up some pictures if you like of one of these boxes filled with goodies.

The good part about the new version of those boxes is they already come with the mounting plate so no need to purchase that separately, you can also get them with a clear lid (I like the clear lids means I can see whats going on) and they also have a high fire rating.
Love to see some photos... I am looking at the falcon v3 and expander, power supplies... but have 4 LOR controllers I will house 1st...
 

Kitman

Full time elf
Joined
Oct 25, 2014
Messages
395
Location
Munno Para
OK I will take some photo's of the larger box tomorrow so you can take a look at how I have laid it all out. Since I am at work right now it's a bit hard lol.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
These are great boxes to use, I have used the smaller version for a while now. There are 2 types of material used, the polycarbonate model is better than the ABS model as the polycarbonate model drills much better and will last outdoors much longer. It does cost a little more though

Ive been able to cram inside these a Meanwell HRP450 watt power supply, a 16 port distribution board and a Minleon Master Network controller with a 5 port network switch. I make my own mounting plate using my 3D printer so all the holes are already lined up to mount everything

20160911_104844.jpg 20160911_104931.jpg
 
Last edited:

Kitman

Full time elf
Joined
Oct 25, 2014
Messages
395
Location
Munno Para
Sorry I didn't get around to attaching photos of my control box, ran out of time to take photos.
controller1.JPG
Controller2.JPG

As you can see by the ruler the box is around 400mm by 300mm
 

David_AVD

Really old (now a Grandpa)
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,204
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
Kitman, I see you have fans on all four vents. Are some of them pulling and some pushing air?

I usually only ever have the inlets passive (no fan) and the exhausts fan powered. I don't know that you gain anything from having fans on the inlets.
 

Kitman

Full time elf
Joined
Oct 25, 2014
Messages
395
Location
Munno Para
Yes I have 2 inlet fans sucking air in and I have 2 exhaust fans pushing air out.
Not sure if it helps or not however from my days of building high performance desktop PC's having a good balance of inlet and exhaust fans does assist in keeping the whole thing cool. I haven't done any extensive testing on having inlet fans or not however considering the fans are cheap I am not overly fussed about adding more than required. Every little bit helps right.
 

Stephan

New elf
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Messages
31
Location
Parkes
Yes I have 2 inlet fans sucking air in and I have 2 exhaust fans pushing air out.
Not sure if it helps or not however from my days of building high performance desktop PC's having a good balance of inlet and exhaust fans does assist in keeping the whole thing cool. I haven't done any extensive testing on having inlet fans or not however considering the fans are cheap I am not overly fussed about adding more than required. Every little bit helps right.
Hi, I am looking for the Cableguard CG-1500 but can't find it here in Aus so Im going to try these. Where can I get the fans and vents? and how do you connect them to turn on and off? Thanks
https://www.brownells.com.au/index.php?route=product/product&path=10005_10045&product_id=38561
 

videoman3857

Full time elf
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
425
Location
Glass House Mountains
Nice looking Crate. Good price too.
try these vents. You can fit these fans to the back of them.
There's also
these vents but you cant fit a fan
You could use a
controller like this. It has a 4 x 4pin header, but to the best of my knowledge you can use the three wire fan on it as well as the four.
The difference being the 3 pin is generally a chassis fan that has a lower power draw than the four is a higher drawing fan commonly used on CPU's.
 
Last edited:

Stephan

New elf
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Messages
31
Location
Parkes
Thanks videoman, I need 5 Volt fans and how do you get them to turn on and off when it gets hot?
 
Top