1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Found these on Ebay - Enclosures

Discussion in 'Handy Tools & Equipment' started by Hammo (Bryan), May 15, 2017.

  1. Hammo (Bryan)

    Hammo (Bryan) Hammo (bryan)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Tumut
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DS-EN-AG...745250?hash=item4ac21523e2:g:XrEAAMXQs6FRNDKu

    These are going for $77.50
    I am sure there are cheaper ones out there... Just trolling for ideas on enclosures.. I have about 30 ones that I brought from Bunnings over the years, but find that they are not large enough to put power supplies and controllers together.

    Any suggestions... I have my local electrical supplier assisting me as well.
    Hammo

    20130301160400.jpg
     
  2. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Munno Para
    Those are sold by a company here in South Australia called Cookson Control, I have purchased all of my control boxes from them, they are a great little box and certainly fit a power supply and a Sandevice e682 in them with a raspberry pi and a little room to spare, I can show up some pictures if you like of one of these boxes filled with goodies.

    The good part about the new version of those boxes is they already come with the mounting plate so no need to purchase that separately, you can also get them with a clear lid (I like the clear lids means I can see whats going on) and they also have a high fire rating.
     
    videoman3857 likes this.
  3. darylc

    darylc Full Time Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    52
    These are DSE Hi-Box enclosures, I've got several of various sizes. They come in various plastics (eg for indoor use, outdoor use etc). Not cheap, but very nice enclosures.

    This particular seller is Cookson Controls in Port Adelaide.

    I've also seen them sold by http://switchesplus.com.au/
     
    Hammo (Bryan) likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Hammo (Bryan)

    Hammo (Bryan) Hammo (bryan)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Tumut
    Love to see some photos... I am looking at the falcon v3 and expander, power supplies... but have 4 LOR controllers I will house 1st...
     
  5. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Munno Para
    OK I will take some photo's of the larger box tomorrow so you can take a look at how I have laid it all out. Since I am at work right now it's a bit hard lol.
     
  6. Binny

    Binny Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
  7. OP
    OP
    Hammo (Bryan)

    Hammo (Bryan) Hammo (bryan)

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Tumut
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,501
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    These are great boxes to use, I have used the smaller version for a while now. There are 2 types of material used, the polycarbonate model is better than the ABS model as the polycarbonate model drills much better and will last outdoors much longer. It does cost a little more though

    Ive been able to cram inside these a Meanwell HRP450 watt power supply, a 16 port distribution board and a Minleon Master Network controller with a 5 port network switch. I make my own mounting plate using my 3D printer so all the holes are already lined up to mount everything

    20160911_104844.jpg 20160911_104931.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2017
  9. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Munno Para
    Sorry I didn't get around to attaching photos of my control box, ran out of time to take photos.
    controller1.JPG
    Controller2.JPG

    As you can see by the ruler the box is around 400mm by 300mm
     
  10. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,534
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Kitman, I see you have fans on all four vents. Are some of them pulling and some pushing air?

    I usually only ever have the inlets passive (no fan) and the exhausts fan powered. I don't know that you gain anything from having fans on the inlets.
     
  11. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Munno Para
    Yes I have 2 inlet fans sucking air in and I have 2 exhaust fans pushing air out.
    Not sure if it helps or not however from my days of building high performance desktop PC's having a good balance of inlet and exhaust fans does assist in keeping the whole thing cool. I haven't done any extensive testing on having inlet fans or not however considering the fans are cheap I am not overly fussed about adding more than required. Every little bit helps right.
     
  12. Stephan

    Stephan New Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Parkes
    Hi, I am looking for the Cableguard CG-1500 but can't find it here in Aus so Im going to try these. Where can I get the fans and vents? and how do you connect them to turn on and off? Thanks
    https://www.brownells.com.au/index.php?route=product/product&path=10005_10045&product_id=38561
     
  13. videoman3857

    videoman3857 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Glass House Mountains
    Nice looking Crate. Good price too.
    try these vents. You can fit these fans to the back of them.
    There's also
    these vents but you cant fit a fan
    You could use a
    controller like this. It has a 4 x 4pin header, but to the best of my knowledge you can use the three wire fan on it as well as the four.
    The difference being the 3 pin is generally a chassis fan that has a lower power draw than the four is a higher drawing fan commonly used on CPU's.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2017
    Hammo (Bryan) likes this.
  14. Stephan

    Stephan New Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Parkes
    Thanks videoman, I need 5 Volt fans and how do you get them to turn on and off when it gets hot?
     
  15. videoman3857

    videoman3857 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Glass House Mountains
    I modified my earlier post to include a controller, but I am only aware of 12 volt equipment.
    No doubt others will chime in regarding 5 volt - if it's available.
     

Share This Page