1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Hello Everyone!

Discussion in 'New Members Say Hello' started by yzguy96, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. yzguy96

    yzguy96 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hi,
    I'm a newbie who just bought 32 channels at Light-O-rama and plan to do at least 16 channels this year. Just started reading about RGB strips and love the idea of using them in my display especially around my windows so I dont have to run multiple strands of different colors. What do you guys use for RGB control with Light-o-rama? I want to buy some RGB strips soon so I can try it but too many options and I still need further reading to make sure I understand it correctly.

    Thanks,

    Pete
     
  2. jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Your LOR boxes cant be used to control RGB. Most likely, your SOFTWARE can't even control RGB unless you buy LOR's DMX module. That is UNLESS you have the Advanced LOR Software version. At this point in the game...and being your first year I wouldn't throw RGB into the mix. However, IF you want to go forward, from my research, I could only recommend E1.31 controllers for RGB and purchases from Ray Wu. With E1.31 you would be using the network for transmitting control commands to the lights. First things first though, go into the RGB section and watch all the RGB videos! You MIGHT be able to do it...but sequencing is a bear! Throwing RGB into that mix its a HUGE BEAR!
     
  3. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    You can use LOR software and hardware to control 3 channel RGB strips.

    What version of LOR software do you have?
     
  4. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Welcome to the forum, I hope you find the place to be friendly and informative.

    I dare say that the 16 channel LOR board is an AC board which cant be used to run RGB lighting which uses low voltage DC boards. You would need an LOR DC board or else you can go and use DMX controllers instead which requires the advanced version of LOR S3 software.

    If you havent already, then download the ACL 101 lighting manual which will give you drawings and examples of both dumb and intelligent RGB lighting.
     
  5. kel

    kel Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tenterfield, NSW/Qld border
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Bird

    Bird Proud LOR user

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    [​IMG]
    to ACL Pete

    Glad to see you join and post.

    He has "Light-O-Rama Basic Plus with SuperStar Demo "
     
  7. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    Welcome to ACl Pete hope to see you in chat some time
     

Share This Page