Hello from Timaru NZ!

cameronkiwi

New elf
Great to find this form. I have been doing basic displays for the last 6 years, I am now looking into moving to the next level with some smarts! This years mission is to build my first Mega tree with Pixels. I am hoping to also make use of my existing store lights and automate these somehow I have been looking into light o rama Happy for suggestions and pointers!

Mark_M

Annoying Elf
Welcome along to AusChristmasLighting @cameronkiwi !
Great to see another Kiwi. I'm up in Auckland.

My first piece of advice out of the gate is buy something cheaper than LOR (Light O Rama). There are many DIY and Sub-DIY controllers available to control standard Bunnings style of lights. It also means you are not locked into LOR software which has a licence fee.
I was looking into LOR, then found this site and thank god I didn't buy into it :).

On an electrical aspect; AC controllers don't work very well for the AU/NZ market. Basically all light strings from Bunnings/Kmart/Warehouse use a small switch-mode power supply on the plug.
This means your control via LOR AC would be limited to ON or OFF, because dimming wouldn't work properly.

Anyway... Welcome to ACL :).

cameronkiwi

New elf
Welcome along to AusChristmasLighting @cameronkiwi !
Great to see another Kiwi. I'm up in Auckland.

My first piece of advice out of the gate is buy something cheaper than LOR (Light O Rama). There are many DIY and Sub-DIY controllers available to control standard Bunnings style of lights. It also means you are not locked into LOR software which has a licence fee.
I was looking into LOR, then found this site and thank god I didn't buy into it :).

On an electrical aspect; AC controllers don't work very well for the AU/NZ market. Basically all light strings from Bunnings/Kmart/Warehouse use a small switch-mode power supply on the plug.
This means your control via LOR AC would be limited to ON or OFF, because dimming wouldn't work properly.