Hi all πŸ€—πŸŽ„

Reganj

New elf
Complete newbie to pixels here. Have hung Christmas lights for many years. From Solar way back to plug in LEDs these days. Seems to get more crazy as the years go on. Three kids under 5yrs helps fuel the bug.
Was a bit of a last minute thing to go RGB this year. Plan was to start with a 16x50 mega tree, build the controller with 16 ports plus add x2 smart expansions x2 600w 12v power supplies. I could only order components as the cash came avalible so was ordering everything at random times. It all worked out in end.
I think my controller turned up mid November 2023
Built and programmed everything and flicked the switch on 1st December 2023 fewww.
Actually have had a heap of technical issues which I managed to get around eventually. I will try iron the rest out via you legends. Main problem being the controller disconnecting from the network.Screenshot_20231210_164806_Gallery.jpg
I'm in Caroline Springs Melbourne.
Ended up running a 24x50 270deg Mega tree and a few hoops with a left over bunch of 100.
Cheers

Attachments

• Screenshot_20231210_165135_Photos.jpg
    Screenshot_20231210_165135_Photos.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 16

ryanschristmaslights

Senior elf
Administrator

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
Two comments - I am not seeing any network connection to the F16v5 - are you using wireless?
Secondly - that fan at the top of the box appears to be facing the wrong way - blowing air down over the equipment - this should ideally be reversed to exhaust the hot air out from the PSUs and allow the cool air to be drawn in at your passive vents at the bottom

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
A hotly debated opinion from what I'm seeing. My brother inlaw is a server technician and we had this discussion.
Yes I opted for the blow in option. The main thing I don't like about it is if there is moisture in the air or its raining.
Agreed, but when it's at the top of the case, and heat rises .... 😜