Hi!

Kiwigirlsteph

New elf
Hi all
I'm brand new to this christmas light obsession. Last year was the first year I entered our house it was cool but this year I want to Amp it up. I have brought a bunch of Bluetooth transformers from lytworx to begin with.. am I wasting my money? Also how do I plug all my lights in without blowing my entire power board? Please help lol I am ready to learn! The videos I have seen on here are amazing!

Skymaster

Crazy elf
Global moderator
Generous elf
Hey Kiwigirlsteph! Welcome!

Ultimately it all depends on what sort of a display you're looking for. If you go for something completely pixel based, then the Lytworx option won't be much use. But there's nothing stopping you having a hybrid setup.
First step would be to check out the 101 Manual that explains most of the bits and pieces.

As for power - given everything is LED based, it draws pretty minimal power in the grand scheme of things - your lytworks controllers would be lucky to use 2% of what your kettle does. You need to get up into the 10,000 light range before you start pulling serious amounts of power.

I would suggest to download xLights and start putting together a layout for your place. It'll give you an idea of what's needed light/prop/controller/etc wise, and will let you see how it all pieces together too.

Notenoughlights

400,000+ twinkly lights
For reference, I have about 150-200 of the little transformers you talk of (not bluetooth however) and only draw around 1500W with all of those running.
To connect these, I use multiple dedicated circuits, but still end up having about 8 multiboards daisychained together, some may see this as unsafe, though the total loading of the entire "daisychain" is less than 200W well under the rating of the power boards.

If you chose to go down the animated/musical sequence route: