How can I cut down on the number of plug packs

borstalboy

New elf
Hi all I am new to all of this but I have managed to build myself a 3m xmas light tree with around 3000 led lights.
How ever now I have a heap of plug packs to plug in which takes up a lot of power boards.
What I would like to do is connect all of these lights into one or two power packs to reduce the number of plugs.
How do I do it?

David_AVD

Grandpa Elf
Community project designer
Generous elf
You may be able to use a (larger) common transformer if the voltages required are all the same.

Maybe list what the plug pack ratings ratings and the set brands are.

borstalboy

New elf
The ones I want to put together are Kmart brought 600leds the power packs are all the same and they are TuMi
Pri 100-240-V 50/60Hz 0.09a
Sec 31V eff 0.12a Max:3.6v
Lamp 2l,31v,0-3.6va tc=75c
I hope this helps
There is a Jaycar near me so if you could reccomend one of theirs that would be great.

David_AVD

Grandpa Elf
Generous elf
Hmmmm... I think these sets use "switch-mode" plug packs. Is the plug pack very light in comparison to the older types?

Where it says 31V, does it have a symbol like the first (AC) or second (DC) type?

wiki-asset

View: https://auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/File:AC_Symbol-png

wiki-asset

View: https://auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/File:DC_Symbol-png

MarcD

Full time elf
I used one of the K-Mart 600 LED strings for my garage door curtain light and they work perfectly running from David's DC48 and power supply if that helps.

Trapper

New elf
Hi,

I am also looking to reduce the amount of powerpack around the different areas of the house.