1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

How to add RGB pixels to existing saved channel group

Discussion in 'LOR General Discussion' started by DougieB, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    Hi LOR legends.

    Here is the thing. I am getting into pixels/rgb and have an existing LED channel layout(90 channels). Over the last day and a half I have been playing with a couple of pixel strings and have saved a channel layout for this (150 channels). I have tried importing the RGB channel layout into an existing sequence (and vice versa) and my arrangement goes crazy, depending on which way i import. I have set up my RGB channels to start at address 96 and my LEDs end at 90. when the import occurs the new channel group goes to the top one the channel list and takes the place of any channels that previously existed.
    Hope this makes sense
    Will try and upload some screen shots tomorrow
    Am I just making a simple rookie mistake ?
    Doug
     
  2. Bird

    Bird Proud LOR user

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Have you tried to insert xx number of new channels before you try to import.
    This can be done by right clicking in the channel name colum,
    Select insert channel, select insert multiple channels, and type the number of new channels.
     
  3. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    What you are having problems with is 1 of the very few hates that I have with LOR. When you import a reference file into a sequence it uses the order of the sequence file and plonks it directly over the order of the sequence file. There is no attempt to correlate channel names/ controllers etc. If you allow for this fact then you shouldn't have too many problems.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    Thanks for the advice, had a play today and by adding the 150 channels to the start of the existing grouping have managed to succesfully import. Was a good exercise as I found a few channel double ups. So all is good :D
     
  5. OP
    OP
    DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    Now for the next question, how do you add the Pixel string to the Visualiser. If I add it as CCR I can't put in the channel and if I add is RGB I get only get 3 channels per string (dumb RGB)

    Doug
     
  6. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,133
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
    Dougie at the momen in the visualiser the only way to draw pixels is one bulb at a time. it is really only set up for there pixel strings. the ccr and ccb. this i one thing they need to change and is a pet hate of mine these last few months.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    It is what I figured, was hoping there was an easier way

    Thanks YL
     

Share This Page