How to pair tree and star model in xLights

brendanaldridge

New elf
Hey guys so I started playing around with xlights with the props im thinking of getting but im not sure how to set up 1 of my props. I'm looking at getting the tree pictured and the description says it uses the native tree and star in xlights but in xlights the tree and star are 2 separate things, I know im a noob but I really appreciate the helpScreenshot_20231106_131322_Samsung Internet.jpg

MikeKrebs

Full time elf
So they mean make a 5 pointed 20 pixel star and a 8 string x 10 pixel tree. Remember that the representation (models) doesn't have to be physically how they are wired. You would use 100 node strings to wire up the prop.

thewanderingpine

Full time elf
You do want the model to reflect how it’s wired. But in this case - you could start at the star - go all the way round it - then start going down and up the tree part. Just make sure that it’s pixel 1-20 for the star and then 21-100 for the tree (or vice Versa - just make sure they are seperate)

MikeKrebs

Full time elf
thewanderingpine is right. You do have to take the physical layout into account. My point was that the prop doesn't have to exactly represent the logical layout in xLights. You can use two models to represent the prop and then you can group them together to make "the prop". The wiring layout (where the star starts specifically) needs to match what you will do in real life and as it is going over two models, it will have to match up with the tree portion. IE don't start the star wiring at the top of the star. It needs to physically come off or go into the tree portion. So the pixels between the tree and the star need to be within range.