how to tell 6803 from 2801

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by Robert, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I've recently purchased a 5m,150 RGB LED, Ribbon Light Strip. My question is,how do you know if you have the 2801 or 6803?


    You can cut these strips in 3 node sections. Each section has 3 small chips. there are 2 chips with 131 and 1 chip with 301 on it per 3 node section.


    There are 4 wires for the strip,White,Black,Red,and green


    Any input would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    It's written on the chip. The chip also has a different number of legs. I can look up which is which if you like.
     
  3. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    first off would be the dimming ability, the 6803 is 5 bit and the 2801 is 8 bit. So the 6803 will only have 32 dimming steps per colour as apposed to 256 dimming steps.

    Also the chips look different, so do some research on both the 6803 and the 2801 IC and see what differences you need to look at.
     
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Just checked; WS2801 chips are 14 pin and 6803 chips are 16 pin.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Thanks for the help. I knew the differences of the chip, just couldn't find any pics. Maybe I have neither on the strip? The chips are small and have solder on the ends,so i cant see pins on the chip.
     
  6. BrianJ

    BrianJ Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    sounds more like resistors, maybe you have "dumb" rgb strip?
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Is it 2801 that you have or 2811 because the new batch of 2811 strips are now coming with the IC inside the LED and as so you will only have a couple of resistors
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  9. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    This looks like dumb strip, so the whole strip is controlled as one and there would be no IC only 3 resistors and 3 leds per section.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    It probably is a dumb strip? But,I couldn't pass it up for the price.
     
  11. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Yep, that's dumb strip for sure. You'll need a DMX DC controller to use with your computer.
     

Share This Page