Kulp K8-B on-board ports not working

pilotman06

New elf
Hello everyone,

First thank you for your help and input. I am new to this and opted for a Kulp K8-B with a beaglebone black with FPP pre-installed for my first attempt. Unfortunately after setting everything up, I am unable to get the 8 on board ports to function correctly. With a pixel string plugged in to any of the 8 ports, they will not light up when using the on-board testing menu, the test menu via FPP, or trying to run any of my sequences. In an attempt to check voltage when touching my multi-meter to the screws in the pixel connection port, I have randomly gotten a few pixels to light up random colors. Generally only the first 1-3 pixel modules. They are unresponsive to FPP commands and they only turn off with a power disconnect.

To Troubleshoot I was able to connect a smart differential receiver board to the port 9-12 plug on the K8-B. Both the K8 and receiver board are connected to the same power supply. With the string connected the the differential board I am able to get them to fully function in every way. The test button on the receiver board works, the test options via the on board buttons/screen works, the test function on FPP works, and my sequences will run. At one point I tried 3 strings on the differential board and 1 string on the K8 port, the 3 differential strings worked, while the K8 string did not. Kulp sent me a replacement K8-B board and unfortunately it is responding the same way. It seems odd to me that two board would be defective in the same way but I am not sure what I may be doing wrong to cause this issue. I am showing 12.8v at the power supply, 12.8v at the differential, 12.7v at the differential pixel connection, 12.5v at the K8-B power input, and 12.5v at the K8-B pixel connection port. FPP is report 11.9V In. In previous troubleshooting my multimeter showed ~12V at the end of the pixel string that was connected to the K8-B but not responding.