Layout Diagram showing E1.31, Hyper DMX and DMX examples

neilric99

Full Time elf
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
295
Location
Irvine, the OC, CA
artzy said:
may I ask a few questions for the technically challenged like myself please

1. The distribution switch is this a standard ethernet 10/100/1000 type switch or is it specialist equipment.

yes its a standard ethernet switch, however there are many types of these and as your network grows a cheap switch wont cut it.

2.If i went down the Tiger Eth328 path would that eliminate the need for a ECG DR4 (unless running other DMX devices)
3.Will all pixel strings etc run 1.31 or is there a particular chip type required for these

pixel strings dont run E1.31 they use SPI type protocols.

4. If I went down the ECG/ TP3244 can I run more than 2 TP3244s per ECG and if I went overboard can you run multiple ECGs.

the ECG-DR4 has 4 outputs and each can drive a maximum of 2048 channels in the propriatry hyper dmx mode. (4*DMX512), as the TP3244 supports Hyper DMX then you could run each of the 4 outputs on the TP3244 with full 170 Pixels per output.

I hope these questions make sense and I am sorry if they seem dumb to some of you, but I dare say I am probably not the only person wondering some of these things.

Many thanks

Paul
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
Re: Layout Diagram showing E1.31, Hyper DMX and DMX examples Version 1.2

artzy said:
may I ask a few questions for the technically challenged like myself please
Sure glad to help

artzy said:
1. The distribution switch is this a standard ethernet 10/100/1000 type switch or is it specialist equipment.
Any network switch would do

artzy said:
2.If i went down the Tiger Eth328 path would that eliminate the need for a ECG DR4 (unless running other DMX devices)
Yes you could run 1 TigerEth328 direct from the computer or multiple TigerEth328 from a switch without the need to use a ECG-DR4, the ECG-DR4 is a bridge between E1.31 and DMX so you would need a DMX dongle or an ECG-DR4 if you planned to use any DMX controllers and/or devices

artzy said:
3.Will all pixel strings etc run 1.31 or is there a particular chip type required for these
E1.31 is the protocol that the computer communicates with to the controller, the controller then changes this to be able to communicate with the digital strings, strips and modules, so this is why you hear 2801 and 6803, they are just 2 different protocols that communicate to the actual mini IC chips for the digital/pixel lights

artzy said:
4. If I went down the ECG/ TP3244 can I run more than 2 TP3244s per ECG and if I went overboard can you run multiple ECGs.
If you went down the ECG-DR4/TP3244 path you could run 4 x TP3244 on the 1 x ECG-DR4 in hyper DMX which would give you 16 universes (8192 Channels) 4 universe per ECG-DR4 output.
you can run as many TP3244 from a single ECG-DR4 universe/output in DMX but remember that a standard DMX universe is 512 channels so you wouldnt be utilising all the channels of a TP3244 if you had more than 1 per standard DMX universe unless you just wanted to mirror the TP3244 and give them the same address
You can also run multiple ECGs

artzy said:
I hope these questions make sense and I am sorry if they seem dumb to some of you, but I dare say I am probably not the only person wondering some of these things.

Many thanks

Paul
These are not dumb questions and I hope i cleared a few things up for you
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
Layout Diagram showing E1.31, Hyper DMX and DMX examples 1.3 Update (ecg-pixad8)

I have updated the diagram to include the ECG-PIXAD8 E1.31 controller
 

Attachments

Christmas in the Shire

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
88
Location
Sutherland Shire, Sydney NSW
Hey Eddie,

I have been looking around the sire and cannot find the details of your preferred 4 core cable. I believe it is security camera cable? What is the gage and is there a link you could post so I can check out the spec's?

Cheers

Gettining excited!!!!! Only another 5 months before I start putting things out again!!!!!!
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,386
Location
Eaglehawk
$26 + gst per 100m for those of us who have Altronics wholesale accounts dropping down to $23 if you get 4 rolls
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
I used both 0.22mm (rated at 2.2amps) and 0.44mm (rated at 4.4amps) 4 core security cable. I bought the cable direct from a local electrical wholesaler. The best way is the take a look in the phone book and ring around your local electrical wholesalers to find the best price (prices can vary greatly). I think the 4.4amp rated cable was somthing like $45 for 100m
 

Christmas in the Shire

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
88
Location
Sutherland Shire, Sydney NSW
Thanks Guys. I appreciate all the info. I will ring around the wholesalers and get some prices on the cable. I suppose the other question is:

If I use the 350W 12V power supply, is there a difference in the potential voltage drop over the two size cables? Does one cable perform better than the other? Is the thinker cable necessary? Do the RGB digital strips draw 2 plus amps at 12V per 5 metre roll? So confussed........

Sorry! That was more than one question! :D

Cheers

Christmas in the Shire
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
Christmas in the Shire said:
Thanks Guys. I appreciate all the info. I will ring around the wholesalers and get some prices on the cable. I suppose the other question is:

If I use the 350W 12V power supply, is there a difference in the potential voltage drop over the two size cables? Does one cable perform better than the other? Is the thinker cable necessary? Do the RGB digital strips draw 2 plus amps at 12V per 5 metre roll? So confussed........

Sorry! That was more than one question! :D

Cheers

Christmas in the Shire
The thicker the cable the less resistance which means less voltage drop. so the longer the run means it is better to go with the thicker cable.

The strip at 30 LEDs per metre will draw 0.6 amps per metre when all colours are on (white) so a 5 metre length of strip will draw 3 amps which would be above the smaller diameter (2.2amp) cable capabilities. That's why i would recommend the 4.4amp rated cable.
The other option is if the majority of your strip is going to be cut up and be no longer than 3.5 metres then the 2.2 amp rated cable will do fine, if you find you have a couple of strips that are 5 metres then you could just run a cable and supply power to both sides of the strip which would effectively give you 2.2 x 2 = 4.4 amps.
 

AAH

I love blinky lights :)
Community project designer
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
3,386
Location
Eaglehawk
The distance between the power supply and the strip/light is a major governing factor. If the distance is under a meter or so the cable size isn't very important. If you have long cable runs like 10 or 20 metres then you need significantly heavier cable so that you aren't losing too much voltage. With higher voltages like 24V losing a volt or 2 due to cable losses won't bother things too much but losing them on a 5V line will make things a bit sad.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,644
Location
Albion Park NSW
Re: Layout Diagram showing E1.31, Hyper DMX and DMX examples V1.4

I have updated the layout diagram to version 1.4 and I have added the E680 E1.31 pixel controller by jim (SanDevices)
 

Attachments

Top