Led Strand Interface with ws2801 Chip? Software?

entropy64

New elf
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
5
Hello Board!

I registered on this board, because i see much development is going on here.

I have a Line of 625 RGB Led Modules with a WS2801 Chip controlling the LED.

Now i am in search of a Software/Interface to put Live Video/ Effects into these Leds.

At the moment i have a SD-Card Non-Realtime Controller, but i wanted to display VU Meters, Scrolltext etc.

So you have any idea what setup i could use or build?

Thanks in advance for your Kind help

entropy64
 

dmoore

Senior elf
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
586
Location
Houston, TX, USA
entropy64 said:
The problem is, do i need a converter from DMX to SPI/i2c ?
Yes - you will be able to use the upcoming protcol bridge - PB3212 to link your 2801 chipped lights to DMX which LSP works with.
 

entropy64

New elf
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
5
This board is so great :)

Can you give me a link on the converter you mention? Is there any information/release date?

Will the bridge somehow limit the number of pixels i can drive?

Thanks,

entropy
 

entropy64

New elf
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
5
Great stuff, indeed, thanks for the link.

Am i right from reading the specs that i will need 10pcs controllers eg to drive 1000px from LightshowPro?
 

dmoore

Senior elf
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
586
Location
Houston, TX, USA
entropy64 said:
Great stuff, indeed, thanks for the link.

Am i right from reading the specs that i will need 10pcs controllers eg to drive 1000px from LightshowPro?
If you have 625 nodes, then you have 1,875 channels (R+G+B). So, in the current design of the protocol bridge, you would need 4 PB3212 controllers (625/170 = 3.67). Thats nothing compared to what you paid for the pixels.
 

entropy64

New elf
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
5
Thanks for explaining dmoore!

I was able to source the pixels at 1,60USD per pixel, and i hope the bridges are not so expensive :)

Do the Bridges plug in directly to the PC or would i need yet another USB2DMX Interface/Converter?

Thank you,

entropy.
 

dmoore

Senior elf
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
586
Location
Houston, TX, USA
entropy64 said:
Thanks for explaining dmoore!

I was able to source the pixels at 1,60USD per pixel, and i hope the bridges are not so expensive :)

Do the Bridges plug in directly to the PC or would i need yet another USB2DMX Interface/Converter?

Thank you,

entropy.
Take a moment and read through the two posts on the Protocol Bridge - they have the answers to your questions.

Thanks,
David
 

mschell

Full time elf
Joined
May 17, 2010
Messages
155
Location
Southeast US
entropy64 said:
Thanks for explaining dmoore!

I was able to source the pixels at 1,60USD per pixel, and i hope the bridges are not so expensive :)

Do the Bridges plug in directly to the PC or would i need yet another USB2DMX Interface/Converter?

Thank you,

entropy.
Put simply, you'll need a Bridge for each 170 pixel nodes (510 DMX channels) and a USB2DMX dongle for each Bridge or something like the EtherConGateway that should be able to talk to multiple Bridges, I think. The ECG would need to be driven by something that can output E.131 (DMX over Ethernet or something similar) via a network card.

LSP does this. I believe there's a Vixen plug-in that have been developed as well.

As dmoore mentioned, there's more details in the TP3212 section.
 

mrpackethead

Full time elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
452
Location
Wellington
sorry that should have read

email john@response-box.com and we can send out some PCB's now. ( For USA ), or you can contact me for AU or NZ, although, i'm just waiting for them to arrive in the mail. ( john has a stack of 50 )

Documentaiton is just getting finished up now.

Btw, for teh aussies, this is the board that i had on display at the melbourne mini.
 

jstjohnz

Apprentice elf
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
97
Location
Indianapolis, IN
entropy64 said:
Thanks for explaining dmoore!

I was able to source the pixels at 1,60USD per pixel, and i hope the bridges are not so expensive :)

Do the Bridges plug in directly to the PC or would i need yet another USB2DMX Interface/Converter?

Thank you,

entropy.
I have a controller that will control all of your strings with a single board, up to 680 pixels total. For full resolution you would need 4 DMX connections, but if you can get by with controlling your pixels in small groups instead of individually you can get by with fewer dmx inputs. More info here: http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12444

The next version will support E1.31, a type of DMX over ethernet. If your controlling software supports E1.31 you wouldn't need any interface at the PC other than a LANcard.

-jim-
 
Top