Looking for Advice on First Commercial Project

johnson8ryley

My idol is ɟɐsʇǝppʎ
Hey guys,

This year I'll be working with a 100 acre pumpkin patch to do a "winter wonderland" Christmas lights show. I've been talking with the owner for over a year now but talks stopped May last year once COVID hit. I'm set to meet with the owner tomorrow to begin buying controllers for a 2021 display and discuss prop ideas.

My main question for you guys is, what are some things I should ask the owner tomorrow as we walk the farm, begin buying controllers, etc. The obvious "what kind of lights" comes to mind, along with pixels props, display elements, etc. I know I'm missing some things you guys might think are worth asking him.

Some important info:
  • I've been programming residential shows for about 10 years now.
  • I'm a senior in college pursuing a degree in electrical engineering.
  • Liabilities will be covered by the farm
  • All lights, controllers, etc will be bought and owned by the farm.
  • My hourly wage has been set and the owner knows roughly how much this project is going to cost
  • The farm has a licensed electrician on-hand should we need power routed underground to areas around the farm
I fully understand how large of a project this is going to be. I do plan to do go the DIY route with a lot of pixels, controllers, to save costs. Is there anything you guys can think of that might be important to ask the owner? Also equally important, what long distance controllers would you guys recommend? There may be synchronized elements that are literally on the other side of the farm 300+ft away, so I'll need to look into controllers like Advatek and Falcon's long distance receivers, but I'm sure you guys have other ideas to help with long distance, isolated elements.

Last edited:

OzAz

Senior elf
Global moderator
I'd be wary of saving costs with cheaper DIY products, the costs of repairing/replacing might end up being more in the long run.

johnson8ryley