Looking for cheap power supplies

scamper

Dedicated elf
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
1,098
Location
collie

tooms

12v4life
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
147
Location
Kalgoorlie
Thanks Scamper, they look good and cheaper then what I've been looking at already.

The one's I linked to earlier I ran last year on my tin roof in the good old Kalgoorlie 41 degree summer heat and seemed to be ok with no failures so far, I tried to open one up to see the goody's under the hood and it's pretty much filled with some sort of epoxy material, the whole unit appears to be completely sealed.

I'm trying to get more props on the roof and simplify the enclosures up there, enclosures with external power supplies appeal to me because it's the power supply that generates the most heat.
 

scamper

Dedicated elf
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
1,098
Location
collie
I have some props on my roof, but I put enclosures under the eves and just run cabling, so it is ok for my. But I do understand what you are trying to do.
Yep the epoxy would seal it :thumbsup:
I would still be happier running them under the eves just to try and cool them some more as I understand the Kal heat and I also have dealt a lot with electronics over the years and I would bet that the heat in those boxes wrapped in epoxy is going to be very close to the components temp limits.
Even if it still is working, you are going to shorten the life of them.
Just a thought.;)
 

tooms

12v4life
Joined
Jan 2, 2015
Messages
147
Location
Kalgoorlie
I have some props on my roof, but I put enclosures under the eves and just run cabling,
Yeh.. I'm trying to run *alot* of props on the roof, last year I went with 2 on the roof, and previously I've just ran power + data up there but now seems more economical to just run data from the controllers down stairs and keep the power localised upstairs.

I understand the Kal heat and I also have dealt a lot with electronics over the years and I would bet that the heat in those boxes wrapped in epoxy is going to be very close to the components temp limits
Agree 100% .. I try to limit my run show times to when the sun is down and run them during the evenings with no sunlight on them .. but, it is just cheap chinese electronics so not expecting 99.999 availability out of them, so happy to buy cheap and stock up on spares.
 

The Bald Boy

New elf
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
41
Location
Lake Macquarie
HI, I just checked out the specs for this power supply and it does not support 2811 LED. Will this be a potential issue? I am new to this and am looking at purchasing power supplies.
 

David_AVD

Really old (now a Grandpa)
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,218
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
A power supply doesn't "support" any type of lights. You do need to get the correct voltage for the intended lights of course. You also need to make sure it can supply enough current (Amps) to run the quantity of lights you want.
 
Top