1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

LOR 3.7 AND ECG-P2 not working

Discussion in 'Community Projects' started by jamesssydney, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. jamesssydney

    jamesssydney New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    G'day from Sydney.

    I've decided to enter into the world of RGB pixels for my Christmas tree for 2012. I live in an apartment so can't decorate the outside.

    I have one set of 50 WS2811 RGB pixels, which are being run by a Joshua 1 System ECG-P2. This is connected by an Ethernet cable to the back of my modem. I've configured the P2 with a unique IP and also configured the String via the IP on Internet Explorer. The lights do work when tested via the DA E131 Test Source software. The lights have been set in Universe 1

    I'm running LOR V3.7.0 Advanced. I've opened the LOR Advanced Network Preference and selected DMX, I clicked on UNV 1 & selected Use E1.31, with multicast IP (239.255.0.2) Port 5568, then selected apply. I then close LOR Network Preference.

    I then open the sequence editor with a new musical sequence. I've set 50 RGB channels. I've also enabled DMX editing via preference tab. I then open the RGB channel settings on the 1st RGB channel, select DMX as the device type, Network Universe 1 and circuit 1,2,3 for Red Green and Blue. Then proceed with the following channels.

    I create a simple sequence using the Color Fade tool. I open the LOR control panel and the LOR Comms Listener opens. which returns [INFO] Connection accepted <368>

    I also select DMX lights on and then select play nothing happens :(

    Not sure what I should do from here. If I've let out any information, please let me know and I will happy to provide.

    Cheers

    James .
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Sounds like you've never had a USB dongle connected to the PC ? There is an issue with LOR where if you don't have the USB driver installed (even though you're not using it in your case), the Comms Listener part of LOR fails to start correctly. This affects E1.31 operation as well as serial I believe.
     
  3. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    Check this thread out, had same problem myself. It has a link to the LOR forums with a great thread on how to solve the problem Install the usb dongle drivers and all should be good
    Mods, can we make the link a sticky
    Thanks
    Doug
     
  4. OP
    OP
    jamesssydney

    jamesssydney New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guys

    Thank you for getting back to I've used LOR software for about 4 years and have 8 of the DC Board CMB16D which are connected via the USB - RJ45 Serial Adapter.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    jamesssydney

    jamesssydney New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also I just read on another forum that you must have the com port open before opening the sequencer
     
  6. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Starting the Control Panel (icon in the system tray) before the sequencer seems to solve a lot of issues.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    jamesssydney

    jamesssydney New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks David will give it a go when I get home this evening :)
     
  8. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    As David said you need to open the control panel. This starts listener, which must be operating for DMX to work, which includes 1.31. If your networks are setup correctly then all should be good
     
  9. OP
    OP
    jamesssydney

    jamesssydney New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's working perfectly thank you everyone
     

Share This Page