LSP and Your PC Specs?

Discussion in 'LightShow Pro (LSP)' started by Robert, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Hello everyone, I was just wondering what all of you LSP users were using to run the Software? What specs do you have on your PC? Have you had any problems with the Software and your configuration?

    I recently bought a new Laptop, with LSP in mind. I do not have LSP yet. I will purchase it in a couple of weeks though.

    My Laptop specs are as follows:

    Dell 7720 SE[table][tr][td] [/td][td]Windows 8,64 Bit
    3rd gen i7 3630qm Processor, up to 3.4 Ghz
    8GB DDR3 SDRAM
    1TB SATA HDD X 32GB mSATA SSD
    NVIDEA GF, GT 650m GDDR5 2GB[/td][/tr][tr][td][/td][td]
    I'm hoping that my configuration will handle LSP without problems. My biggest fear is Windows 8. I'm keeping my fingers crossed though. Any other Windows 8 Users?[/td][/tr][tr][td][/td][td][/td][/tr][tr][td]
    [/td][td][/td][/tr][tr][td]
    [/td][td][/td][/tr][tr][td] [/td][td][/td][/tr][tr][td][/td][td][/td][/tr][/table]
     
  2. GoofyGuy

    GoofyGuy Guest

    Thats a beast of a laptop. I cant imagine any issues with that rig and LSP.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    That's what i'm hoping, fingers crossed. Figured I would see what everyone else was running LSP on :)
     
  4. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Windows 8 was used by a few members last season without issue.

    How many channels do you plan on sequencing?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I'm planning on 2k - 4k RGB SS, channels, depending how everything goes. It's going be my first year, so starting off small.
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    wont be a problem at all with 4k channels it will run well for you
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    This coming from the LSP Guru himself, gives me confidence :D .
    What specs do you have on your PC to run your giant show?
     
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    i run a 3.4ghz i7 with 16gb ram, but is a an early version of an I7 as ive had this system for 2 seasons. I ran 10000 channels.
    Also what i find is the software improves in performance each year as well. So i cant see you having any issues especially that you have a 64 bit system and a new generation I3 processor so you can take advanatge of LSP 64bit version.
     
  9. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    As far as running LSP that rig shouldn't have any problems. What you may have to keep an eye on is making sure that the log files that LSP creates for debugging doesn't gobble up the space on your solid state drive. Every session that you run LSP it creates a log file and the longer you're running and the more channels you've got the bigger the file is. If you're not experiencing any problems then you can just delete the files. A few guys with big channel counts in 2012 found that their super fast SSD drives were suddenly full and the culprit was the log files.
     
  10. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    This was an issue on earlier versions of LSP, I havent had that issue since before christmas, but yes it was a surprise to find after a few days that my SSD was full, but easy fixed.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Robert

    Robert Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Just read a post about this over at the LSP Forums. I believe it was resolved with updating.
     
  12. joeengler

    joeengler Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garden City, MI 48135
    I remember when starting with 16 to 32 channels was keeping it small
     
  13. DeeJai

    DeeJai Is that Magic Smoke?!?

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    No longer in Radelaide
    small... pfft.. hahaha, that aint small
    nice rig btw
     

Share This Page