1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Meanwell SP-320-5 fan on all the time

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Greg.Ca, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. Greg.Ca

    Greg.Ca Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a few of these 5VDC power supplies to power up my 5VDC strips. I noticed RIGHT away that the fan turned on and stayed on even though the only load was my P12R ONLY with NO lights on at all.

    Should the fan be on with just a few milliamps of current?

    Right now with only 1 strip attached, the fan is on ALL the time and when I do turn some of the pixels on, then the fan cranks up the RPM signficantly.

    With my 12VDC meanwells, the fan only came on after there was a lot of load for a continuous duration of time. For the most part, on the 12VDC meanwells, the fan remained silent. But with this 5VDC meanwell, the fan came on from the begginning and stayed on continuously even though the load was just milliamps.

    Anybody using this power supply 'Meanwell SP SP-320' ? Does the fan come on immediately even with little or no load? Also, I should mention, I bought three of these and all three are doing the same thing. --Greg--
     
  2. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Where did you get these from as there are Meanwell clones about. I cant say that for 5vdc if the fan is supposed to stay on or not but my 12vdc Meanwells will only come on when the temp rises on the baord and is not linked to load
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Greg.Ca

    Greg.Ca Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the 12V meanwells from www.Ledwholesalers.com

    And I bought the 5VDC meanwells from www.Trcelectronics.com

    Hopefully, they should both be genuine and not cheap lookalikes.

    I should also mention that the 12VDC meanwells DID have a 110-220 VAC switch on them and the 5VDC meanwells did NOT have a 110-220 switch.

    Eddy, what AC voltage does Australia use 110 or 220? --Greg--
     
  4. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    We are 220/240v here.
    I would take a look at the meanwell site and do a comparison of the same model you have as this may show if its a true meanwell or a copy.
     
  5. Bill Ellick

    Bill Ellick Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Just for an FYI, I have bought meanwell supplies from TrcElectronics before and they were true meanwell's and not clones.
    It has been awhile though and that does not mean that they could not have decided to change them.
     
  6. penguineer

    penguineer Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mount Tamborine, Qld
    Just had a look at the site - I'd say they're really Meanwells - listed as manufacturer, Meanwell pricing(ie dearer than clones) and Meanwell branding all over the place.

    Most clones you see advertised just list as "power supply" and let you make your own assumptions about the labelling......(which isn't Meanwell, but could be mistaken for it at first glance).

    Cheers!
     
  7. ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    My meanwell also comes on and stays on, its 12v.

    My other chinese ones only come on when load calls for it.
     
  8. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    I have a mixture of meanwell and chinese in al voltages I use: 5, 12, 24, 27v
    I have found that the 5v all have the fans run while the rest generally only come on. I do have 1 chinese 12v that runs constantly
     
  9. danozfw

    danozfw New Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    The SP version is the cheaper value Meanwell and were not actually available at the Australian Meanwell site last time i looked. I have the SE series so that makes sense why the ones I have use a temp controlled fan as opposed to load based.
     
  11. anon

    anon Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide
    David supplied me the SP variant here, I have 2x SP240 PSUs.


    The fan comes on and off as it pleases. The spec sheet says that it will turn on when >40C and turn off <35C, which is roughly current from what I've seen. On warm nights it would turn on straight away with no load, cooler nights it would take a while for it the fan to turn on with a load.


    My experience though is with the 240W unit, I would hazard a guess that they missed the fan control details out of the 320W data sheet, the block diagram still shows it as having 'fan control' block.
     
  12. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    I'm 99% sure the SP units are what I supplied to you last year Eddy. They are more expensive then the plan S versions from memory. I've not used any with the SE prefix.
     
  13. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    DOH!, My mistake its the SP units I have, i got them mixed around
     

Share This Page