1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Mega Tree Flicker & hanging – Xlights & Pixlite 16

Discussion in 'DMX, E1.31 & Networking' started by Beacy, Dec 10, 2015.

  1. Beacy

    Beacy It's so much better on the dark side

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Beaconsfield
    Run into an annoying issue that some suggestions would be appreciated[SIZE=78%] [/SIZE]
    I have 2 mega trees and one half of one tree gets a flicker and tends to lag and momentarily get hang.
    The set up is
    Each tree has 2801 pixel nodes strings of 100 –(50 up & 50 down) power going in both ends
    The control is split in half 12 x strings out of each Pixlite controller separate 5v PSU to each bank of 8 - PSU’s have earths linked an each imput of power to controller has doubled up Fig8 wires – distance from PSU to board – 1 mt Controller to string 2 mt.
    Have tried switching to different Pixlite Controller – no difference.

    Have changed cat 5 cable – no difference
    What stumps me is all other PSU’s & controllers are set up identical and there are no issues like this.

    Some suggestions would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. grungle25

    grungle25 New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Darwin
    Had a similar issue with some 2811 12V node candy canes that was fixed with a null pixel. Had the same pixel nodes in my stars with the same size cable etc. Stars were fine but candy canes flickered and went crazy. Have no experience with 2801 though....
     
  3. Fing

    Fing Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Muswellbrook
    Find Me On:
    Hi Beacy,
    some thoughts, if it is only one half of one tree and both trees ( 4 halves) are wired the same, and swapping controllers doesn't work, then it would appear that the problem is with the wiring of the half in question? poor join? wrong connection perhaps?
    I have a flicker in my tree, but closer inspection showed that it was always at the same point in the song, I think it is an artefact of the rendering process.....or my lack of sequencing abilities. could this be the case for you as well?


    another thought could it be a sick power supply that can't supply full power when needed? ( i had a 50A PS that would only do 36A)


    Cheers
    Fing
     
  4. Jimbo

    Jimbo Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had a similar issue.

    Turned out my length of the wire for the data to the first pixel was to long.

    I re-made with co axel cable with minimum length and it fixed it
     
  5. Babybear

    Babybear New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, New York
    I also had the same issue I pulled the data lines and ran separate wires just for them. I had some bad wires the were getting corrupted from the power in the dampness of the ground.
     

Share This Page