Memory Hold Lights and LOR AC Controllers

Callaidyn

New elf
Hi,
This is my first year sequencing lights and I have bought some LOR AC Controllers (I know - I've read all the posts about DC vs. AC but for my first year I just want to learn the basics e.g. set-up, sequencing, etc. without having to learn about how to set up a DC system - or RGB's, pixels, etc.)............. I am easing my way in slowly :)
My question is, has anyone used/tested the memory hold lights yet (that seem to be hitting the shops now) with an LOR AC controller? If you memory hold on Steady-On will they work as a normal steady-on light string?
Thanks!!

kane

Dedicated elf
Callaidyn said:
Hi,
This is my first year sequencing lights and I have bought some LOR AC Controllers (I know - I've read all the posts about DC vs. AC but for my first year I just want to learn the basics e.g. set-up, sequencing, etc. without having to learn about how to set up a DC system - or RGB's, pixels, etc.)............. I am easing my way in slowly :)
My question is, has anyone used/tested the memory hold lights yet (that seem to be hitting the shops now) with an LOR AC controller? If you memory hold on Steady-On will they work as a normal steady-on light string?

Might need to post a bit more information on the lights in question, but if they are the sorts of lights that have a controller that cycles between different modes by turning on and off (eg connect power, lights are solid on, disconnect power and re-connect, and now the lights start flashing, etc), then I would say that these won't be a good choice, unless you bypass the controller.

David_AVD

Grandpa Elf
Community project designer
Generous elf
Even bypassing the controller is fraught with danger these days. A lot of the light sets are now being supplied with switch-mode (not iron transformer) power supplies.