Missing 36v transformer alternative?

nickfrazz

New elf
Joined
Oct 30, 2019
Messages
16
Hi all I recently purchased this rope light deer head thingy from a garage sale for $5. Got home and realised it doesn’t have a transformer.

I’ve added the specs that are on the box, where can I buy one. It’s using a connector I’m not sure of the name but it is the same as you would use for led strip lights ( not the same as my other Christmas lights)
 

Attachments

David_AVD

Really old (now a Grandpa)
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,225
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
Does the box mention that it has flashing modes? If so, is there an MFC (Multi Function Controller) between the power in and light set?

Some of the 36V power supplies just supply 36V DC. Others have the MFC built in and reverse the output polarity for the flash modes.
 

nickfrazz

New elf
Joined
Oct 30, 2019
Messages
16
Doesn’t mention it and it doesn’t really look like it would. I’ve tried a 24v transformer on it. It works just very dim
 

Jarrad

I find your lack of Pixels Disturbing
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
28
Location
Busselton WA
Nick, if you can show the end of the plug, i have a stack of these things im probally never going to use agin, i can did through my boxes of crap and try find one for you, cant promise anything though
 

Mark_M

Full time elf
Generous elf
Joined
Dec 30, 2018
Messages
381
Location
Auckland, NZ
Is this needing to be an AC or DC transformer?

is there an MFC (Multi Function Controller) between the power in and light set?
If you tried with an AC transformer it technically outputs like an MFC, just a sine wave not a square wave. So a little more flicker.
 

nickfrazz

New elf
Joined
Oct 30, 2019
Messages
16
Is this needing to be an AC or DC transformer?


If you tried with an AC transformer it technically outputs like an MFC, just a sine wave not a square wave. So a little more flicker.
the transformer I used was a dc it’s dim and flickering. I’m not all that good with electronics does that mean I need a dc or ac transformer
 

nickfrazz

New elf
Joined
Oct 30, 2019
Messages
16
Nick, if you can show the end of the plug, i have a stack of these things im probally never going to use agin, i can did through my boxes of crap and try find one for you, cant promise anything though
thank you heaps mate I’ve attached a few pics of it
 

Attachments

Mark_M

Full time elf
Generous elf
Joined
Dec 30, 2018
Messages
381
Location
Auckland, NZ
If you used a DC transformer and all of the lights lit up it is a sign that the original plug didn't have an MFC.
That is good!
The original was probably a DC transformer.
 

David_AVD

Really old (now a Grandpa)
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,225
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
Yes, if you apply 36V DC (or as close as you can get) to the lights and only half light up, that will be one of the newer polarity reversing sets. If they all light up, then a DC supply is what you need.
 

nickfrazz

New elf
Joined
Oct 30, 2019
Messages
16
thank you everyone so ive nailed it down to a 36v dc transformer. where can i get one? bunnings doesnt seem to have anything and i cant really find anythingon google aswell?
 
Last edited:

Jarrad

I find your lack of Pixels Disturbing
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
28
Location
Busselton WA
i shall dig into my boxes later today and see what ive got, its just a white light on the rain dear is it?
 
Top