Music Sync Light Display

itsjames

New elf
Hey guys! Hope you’re all well. I’m trying to setup a light display this year that’s synced to music and broadcast via FM. I’ve never done anything like this before and clearly don’t have heaps of time until Xmas to bring this together.

basically what I’m looking for is a kit or something that has everything I need to get started. Something that will let me plug in my existing Christmas lights that I already own such as LED icicle lights, rope lights and colourful string lights. I don’t require any fancy RGB controlling. As long as I can plan it out in a software and make the lights blink to the music I’ll be very happy.

I’ve looked at Light O Rama kits as a solution but from what I can understand, you need a certain type of Christmas lights for them to work. Plus I wasn’t sure if they had AU plugs and if the voltage would match from US to AU.

Any help would be really appreciated :)

Thanks,
James

Notenoughlights

400,000+ twinkly lights
First do you know what voltages the light strings run on? Not the mains side, but the low voltage side. Most are 31v some are 24v. There are 3 wire types and 2 wire types, this is the number of wires coming from the factory flasher unit. If you are able to source that info it will aid in finding you a suitable controller.
This will be a lot of DIY work as there generally isn't a kit as everybody uses the gear in different ways (except LOR but we stay clear of that)

djgra79

My name is Graham & I love flashing lights!
Global moderator
Generous elf
Welcome to ACL James.
As noted above, both the voltage and wire count (2 or 3) of your existing lights will determine what controller hardware is required to make them computer controllable. Hanson Electronics is based in Bendigo VIC and will no doubt be able to assist and sell you the board you need for these lights.