1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

My display thus far...

Discussion in 'LOR General Discussion' started by ShellNZ, Jul 1, 2012.

  1. ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    Hope you all dont mind but I think I might make this my permanent thread by throwing everything into here.

    My first controller box is the LoR 240v with pigtails box.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    The above is my 2nd controller box with 320w 12v power supply and CMB-16D-QC Deluxe DC card. Should be able to fit a couple more cards in there in time.

    Below is my 3rd controller box with 1 x 31v power supply (odd I know) and 1 x 24v power supply. My 3rd DC card will fit in there (and maybe another in time).

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Getting there [​IMG]
     
  2. angus40

    angus40 Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very professional looking !
     
  3. ewanh

    ewanh what goes here?

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Langwarrin, VIC
    Find Me On:
    31v is not uncommon. I have some 24V AC lights that run best at 31V DC. I am sure someone with better electronics knowledge than me would be abel to explain.

    Ewan
     
  4. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    That's a good idea mounting the power supply and board off some ply Shell. I wonder where that idea came from ;)

    On a more serious note in that same enclosure the the wire between the supply and the board looks reasonably skinny to me. The board has 2 20A fused sides on it. With fusing this high the wire between the the power supply and the pcb should be at least 1.5mm cross sectional area which would be double what the mains cable is if you need something to reference against.

    With the nice job on the face and the tidy work on the controllers I'm expecting you'll do some nice work this year Shell.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    The wire that I have running from power supply to board is speaker wire, 2.5mm I think it is, red/black.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    I have updated my enclosures as per suggestions in chatroom.

    2mm cable and vent holes out the side

    1st one is LoR 240V AC with pigtails

    This is the 2nd one
    [​IMG]

    This is the 3rd one
    [​IMG]

    and the 4th one is the DC48 one
    [​IMG]
     
  7. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Just make sure those elbows are pointing down to stop water getting in and also good to add some fly screen as well to stop any bugs getting in.

    But you make my stuff look bodgy :eek:
     
  8. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    To help out anyone else wanting to do the same, can you detail where you got the glands from, and whether they allow the rj45 plug to fit through (and in which case, do they seal well enough around the cable), or if you connect up the plug afterwards?

    Also, what did you use to connect the pvc pipe to the box?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    I got the glands from my local electrical store, they come in 3-4 different sizes, so I got the 16mm ones to put 1 or 2 power plugs through, they seal very well when screwed closed. I got the larger 25mm ones for all the DC card cables that will be running out of the enclosure and the Cat5. The RJ45's do fit through the 25mm glands easily.

    Im not sure what the name of the PVC screwpipes are that I used to be honest. I told the guy what I was doing he threw them to me :) It works much like a nut & bolt. You then add a bit of conduit e.g 40mm, then push the elbow on. The screw part goes over 20mm and the elbow goes over the other 20mm, so it covers the 40mm conduit. Mine werent perfect 40mm conduit bits as you can see in the pics, slightly different lengths, but I couldnt be bothered doing it perfectly. You can also silicon to solidly seal the join.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    Shell, it is called a bulkhead fitting
     
  11. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    I got a bunch of glands from http://www.red2go.net/listProduct/Glands/Nylon+Gland - just the smaller ones though, which wouldn't be big enough for a RJ45 plug to fit through.. Their "medium" size looks like it would be too big (ie it wouldn't tighten around the cable enough).

    These sorts of threads are invaluable for people starting out - means you can get things right the first time around!
     
  12. Bevo

    Bevo Let your Light Shine before men

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Caboolture QLD
    Find Me On:
    They are technically called a plain to screw adaptor with a lock ring. And they are sold as separate items.






    Great job with the boxes.
     
  13. logandc99

    logandc99 Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    4
    Find Me On:
    Shell, where did you get the 31v power supply from. Although lots of my lights are 24v, the ones I got last year all seemed to be 31v and I couldn't see a 31v supply on Ray Wu's store.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    ShellNZ

    ShellNZ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Karaka, Auckland, NZ
    Find Me On:
    Hiya log, I see you are also from NZ.

    I got a 27v from wellforces here in NZ and increased the voltage to max 32v.

    I also had a lot of 31v, they are the ones from The Warehouse :)
     
  15. logandc99

    logandc99 Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    4
    Find Me On:
    Thanks Shell,
    Having a go at moving my static display into the musical realm this year but in a smaller way compared to your proposed setup that I saw on the LOR forums ( looks good by the way).
    Thanks for the info on the power supply. Yes I have several sets from the warehouse and was surprised to see they are 31v compared to all my others that are 24V. I had heard that some lower voltage power supplies can be adjusted higher so your info is very helpful.
    Have gone with a CMB-16D all setup for RGB from Kevin at christmaslightingdisplays just to make life easier and then another CMB-16D from the LOR sale which I'll have a go at setting up myself for my 24v and 31v LEDs. I want to stick with low voltage lights as people tend to wander amongst the lights in our property so don't want to fry anyone. :)

    I got lots to learn but looking forward to it.
     

Share This Page