1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Need some assistance.

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by burner, Jun 3, 2012.

  1. OP
    OP
    burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bingo :) I also noticed on his site the section labeled LED Lighting accessory, so I can now see the tails I was looking for. Thanks heaps guys.
     
  2. mick8248

    mick8248 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mildura
    Received my $36 strips from Ray, they work great connected to a p12r, set to TM180x, 2000kps, attached three strips end to end with no issues, just ran some simple sequences, will try some trickier ones tomorrow and see how they go.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine have arrived in Melbourne for delivery hopefully tomorrow.

    How many of these strips can you run/universe in 1 run on the P12R? Is it limited to the QTY of channels in a given universe (ie, 6144/12 = 512 channels, thus divided by 3 = 170 LEDs so divided by 30LEDs/M = 5.6M of these strips?
    I bought 12 of these strips too. The website says 3.2Amp power requirement. I'm assuming this is for full white, maximum power usage. At this rate, would I be correct in calculating that I need 12 * 3.2Amp of 12V power = 38.4Amp. I also have 5 LED modules for the candy canes, which from my estimation uses 1.1Amp per length, so 5.5Amps. So all up I need to power 43.9Amp at maximum usage. Based on this, can someone confirm I need to buy 2 * MeanWell 12v 25Amp 300Watt PSU's from AVD?
    Just need to get my calculations all right so I can work out my lighting layouts.
    I spoke to the person at J1sys last week and he has said to hold off for a month because they are getting a new controller ready which is geared for the 2811 IC's.
     
  4. ewanh

    ewanh what goes here?

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Langwarrin, VIC
    Find Me On:
    I think you mean:
    http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/210128048-331631111/100-pairs-2-Core-White-Waterproof-Line-15cm-long-each-male-and-female-22.html

    http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/210128048-331631241/100-pairs-3-Core-White-Waterproof-Line-15cm-long-each-male-and-female-3core.html

    http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/210128048-323485474/50-pairs-4-Core-White-Waterproof-Line-15cm-long-each-male-and-female.html

    Mine just arrived this week. :)

    Ewan
     
  5. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
    Burner
    you need to work out how many IC's per meter as this is your actual pixels. If you have 30 leds/m but only 10 IC/m you are controlling 3 leds per ic and only have 50pixels per strip.
    I would buy 3 power supplies to give yourself a bit of fat, but you could get away with 2
    I don't think Ed (J1sys) was talking about a controller specific to 2811's, but a firm ware update for his controllers. I could be wrong on this one though. :D
    Doug
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,639
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    The fact that you say the strip you are getting are 12vdc strips would mean that they are 3 5050 LEDs per 100mm (50 pixels per strip) which means when using the ECG-P12R you can use up to just over 3 strips for 170 pixels, 510 channels per universe per output (50+50+50+20)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Righty-o, I'm starting to get it all now. I received my box of goodies today too.
    This is what I got from Ed at J1SYS, " All support 2811 as 180x right now and we are adding a tailored 2811 version this month."
    So I'mn not sure what the 'tailored' difference will be, but I might wait for that one before I order.
    Also, I've been playing with vixen using the tutorial from this forum for setting up the RGB lights. You can only work on 512 channels at the one time, and then need to start a new file for the next 512. For those using LSP instead, is it any easier to work with and does it have the facility to work on your entire display at the same time?
     
  8. DougieB

    DougieB Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone, Qld
  9. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,639
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    LSP has the ability to work with your display as a whole and as individual elements, this is what i find as one of LSPs strengths. The new 2.5 version offers even more features including a powerful effects generator so its a feature rich package.
    As far as how hard is LSP is to use then this will vary between individuals, LSP is a very powerful program with many features and with this comes complexity, so this increases the lerarning curve and difficulty to get the most out of the program, but it is well worth the effort learning.
    But after all the above is said, if the software you are currently using can do what you want it to, then there should be no reason to change unless you really want to.
     

Share This Page