New to computer control!

scamper

Dedicated elf
I have been putting up lights for a few years now and every time I make a bigger and brighter display, everyone in the neighbourhood outdoes me :mad: ... Si for next year I have decided that it is time to get into the 21st century and go computer control!
Oh what have I done ? :eek:
I have downloaded vixen 3 after doing some research and started playing around with that, I have settled on DMX controllers, as I believe I could get some use out of the party side of things throughout the year also. So have ordered a 27 ch controller and a couple of single channel rgb controllers and what I thought was the dongle that I needed to drive these, but now am not sure if it is what I need.
To start with I thought I would get a couple of bits together and do some testing, before blowing huge amounts of money on something that is no good. can someone tell me if this is what I need to go from the usb on my computer to the controllers? or did I waste my time and money. (it hasn't arrived yet)
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/281232548659?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649
25028.jpg

ecbailey

Full time elf
Welcome to ACL, You are sure to find the info you need. Best way to start is by reading the 101 manual by FastEddy.

You're adapter, whilst probably not the most common starting method will allow you to control 512 channels. Most of us use E1.31, which is DMX over ethernet, or some use usb to dmx adapters, but instead of using the three pin connector, using ethernet cables (to be non technical).

None the less, its simply a different plug and the Ethernet ones still only uses 3 wires out of the 8.

In some instances, your plug may be more useful as this is what some of the controllers from ray accept.

If you post some links to the controllers you have bought, we can provide more help - either way everything you buy will be useful for something :)

Good Luck :)

dale82

Senior elf