1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

New to sequencing so be gentle (or not, i can take it ;-) )

Discussion in 'New Members Say Hello' started by battle79, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    Hi All,
    I'm based in melbourne and am an electrician (not a electronic engineer ;-) ).
    I have 30 or so Big W strands of standard and icicle xmas lights and am looking to get into some sequencing. Not thinking of RGB or sync to music just yet but might for 2014 xmas.
    Main aim for 2013 is to get all the sets of 10 LEDs in my current strands all on individual channels so i can chase and fade.
    Thinking I want a ECG-P12R (splurge item) for covering all future possibilities. (IE RGB)
    Next a board to hang off the first output to run all my existing DC LED lights (64 channels and counting), Thinking maybe a TigerDMX120LC, but sugestions welcome.
    And finally some sort of control/SSR's to run all my rope lights (240V), (No transformer, so they seem to actually run on 240VAC).

    Cheers,
    Rowan
     
  2. kel

    kel Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tenterfield, NSW/Qld border
    [​IMG]
     
  3. lithgowlights

    lithgowlights Senior Elf

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Lithgow, NSW
    Find Me On:
    The P12R is for pixels, bot standard lights, so you will need some sort of DMX dongle (I personally use the J1Sys DR4, which has 4 universes, so overkill for you in the short term), and then DMX boards.

    David_AVD has some DC Boards which may be suitable for you, and add to that a Power Supply suited to your lights and you are laughing as far as DC items. The 240V is an issue as there are only a few 240V controllers around, but you may be able to pick up a 240V LOR Controller cheap after Christmas as people go away from 240V to more LV items
     
  4. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Hi Rowan,
    The ECG-P12R is for driving intelligent pixel strings or strips that use the 6803, 2801, 2811, etc chip inside.

    The Tiger series is no longer available, but there are alternatives with smaller channel counts. I sell the DC24 and DC48 DC controllers and AAH (Alan) sells the AAHmega60 DC controller.

    As for 240V stuff, there's usually people selling off their surplus LOR CTB16 series controllers during the year.
     
  5. smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    where is people reading the information on the Tiger series of boards??
    the Tiger120 is a waste of money, esp @ 100ma per output
    go David_Avd post
     
  6. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,543
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Welcome to ACL Rowan
    2014 is a long way away. If you really wanted to you could be going in a day or 2 for 2012.
    The ECG-P12R is exclusively for pixels unless my memory of terminology is wrong. To drive dc dimmer boards which are what you need for flashing dumb (static type) lights you need something like the ECG-D4 or alternatively a usb-dmx dongle. David_AVD sells isolated usb-dmx dongles or I have a few non isolated ones if you were desperate to get going this year.
    The tiger 120 is now an obsolete item and is limited to about 100mA per channel as well so it's not suitable for most loads. On the wiki there's a list of controllers available and their specs.

    I see that while i was typing there were a few replies :)

    If you're not looking at lighting up with flashing lights for a year or so then make sure that you try to get to the Melbourne lighting mini which is usually around mid year. It's well worth the trip/time as hands on exposure to the sequencers and lights gives you a running start.
     
  7. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    What suburb are you in Rowan?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    Thanks for quick responses,
    So if i get 2x AAHmega60, plug them into my USB to serial dongle, link to vixen, & change start address on second unit i'm good to go? (except for wiring and power supplies obviously)
    Also, with the LOR CTB16, does it work with a DMX input and can it be set to start at the next DMX channel ?(thinking ropelights for next year)
    What power supplies can you recommend? (get good trade discount from radio parts)
    Thinking I will run each 10 LED section as a channel, should I link the overlaping LED section or keep it seperate so i can twinkle?
    Cheers,
    Rowan
    P.S. Sorry lots of questions
     
  9. Benschristmaslights

    Benschristmaslights Dedicated Elf Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Elderslie
    Find Me On:
  10. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,543
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    Questions are about the only way to learn.
    If you're after 2 of the Mega60/M60 then you might as well have separate strings for each channel as it allows for greater programming flexibility. Changing the start address is dead easy and that's about all you need to do. The latter releases of the CTB16 allow you to run either LOR mode or DMX mode with no need to tell the controller as it auto detects what it is being fed. The start channel that they used is based on the controller number that is programmed into it using the LOR hardware utility. Controller 1 uses dmx channels 1-16, 2 uses 17-32 etc. i haven't used RPG for many years now so i don't know what power supplies they offer these days. Most of us are using open frame type power supplies like this http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/350W-Dual-Output-Switching-Power-Supply-88-264VAC-input-24V-350W-output-CE-and-ROHS-approved/701799_348592454.html from Ray Wu or alternatively the same sort of thing made by Meanwell.
     
  11. Bird

    Bird Proud LOR user

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    [​IMG]
    to ACL Rowan

    As you can see you will have lots of friendly help to make your home blinky.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    So when I said ever group of ten LEDs I actually was thinking in my head every 2mtr section (which you probably all realised anyway).
    So that gives 32 channels of icicles across the front of the house (blue and white overlaid), should give good ability for effects. Thinking of maybe 8x 2ft trees on lawn with 2 colors each (based off lights i already have)
    If i don't get carried away I can get away with one board to start with.
    Now to order board, power suppy, wire, and anything else you happen to notice i'm forgetting
     
  13. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,543
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    1 thing that is easily forgotten is cat5 cable to get from dongle (or ecg) to controller and from there to other controllers. i ended up making a bunch of the cables this year as i needed heaps more and as the deadline approached i couldn't be sneaking into Jaycar to get more.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    Cat5 cables are no problem at all. Have 3 drums of the stuff and pack after pack of connectors. Plus lots of premade leads.
    Power supply and a pack of 50 4pin connectors are ordered. Now to bug AAH for a mega60 board.
    Do I just ask for one here or is there a web store I'm not seeing?

    Cheers,
    Rowan
     
  15. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    PM him, and he'll get back to you with the ordering procedure.
     

Share This Page