1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

New ws2811 strip issues

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by ԆцряєсϮ, Dec 20, 2016.

  1. ԆцряєсϮ

    ԆцряєсϮ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Botanic Ridge
    Find Me On:
    Ive replaced some of my roof lines with some new strip purchased from Ben Brown.
    Every time I replaced a section,It would work ok on the ground then fail when put back up on the roof.
    So after some testing Ive worked out that the strip works OK straight from a controller (P2 in this case) however If I plug it in anywhere in my run , ie being fed from older strip, it fails?? plug it back into the controller and it works fine?
    Am I missing something here? Has anyone else had similar issues.
    1/2 my roof depends on this?
     
  2. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Munno Para
    are you sure it's ws2811 strip and not ws2813 strip that has the backup data line running through it? I got some ws2813 from Ben earlier in the year (Specifically asked for ws2813) in the hope I could just use it but my sandevice controller didn't like it, however having 50 ws2811 nodes before the strip I could get it to run, so it would seem the signal isn't quite the same for the ws2811 and ws2813.


    Just a thought.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ԆцряєсϮ

    ԆцряєсϮ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Botanic Ridge
    Find Me On:
    no theres no backup data line
     
  4. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    Not sure but if your in need of strip, let me know I have spare rolls of a few different types that might help you out. Wanting to come see your display anyway sometime soon, so would be a good excuse.


    Regards,
    Rowan
     
  5. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    The issue with the 2811, 2812 family of chips is that there are many clones. These are bought at market due to price and many times these could be seconds from a factory or a clone that may not be exactly the same. Ive seen this before in the early days using the 6801 chip
     
  6. Goliath

    Goliath Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Gracemere
    I had some issue with 2811 strip this year also. Seems to be very feeble at passing signal to next strip. I used mine on spiral trees, and would not pass the signal 3 metres to the next tree. I had to put a null pixel in the middle. The Ray Wu stars were even worse, and I gave up on them.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    ԆцряєсϮ

    ԆцряєсϮ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Botanic Ridge
    Find Me On:
    Yeah I have 12 rolls of the crap, all from Ben Brown and none of it works in conjunction with any of my existing strip.

    How many rolls can you spare Rowan? I haven't been able to run my display yet as I have no roof section?
     
  8. battle79

    battle79 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, Victoria, AU
    What format you looking for?


    I have:-
    5v 30/30 black ~4 rolls
    12v 30/10 black ~2 rolls
    12v 48/16 black ~3rolls


    If your after 5v 30/30 white I have some lengths that are used but working fine.


    Cheers,
     
  9. OP
    OP
    ԆцряєсϮ

    ԆцряєсϮ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Botanic Ridge
    Find Me On:
    12v 30/10
    mines all white but covered with coro strips anyway.
     

Share This Page