Newbie request - How many LED constitutes a display????

Cybernautwa

New elf
I am new to this style of system using the boring traditional christmas lights.

Ok, I see what controllers, software, etc being available but have NO IDEA how much or many constitutes a display.

Yes, that is a broad comment given variables as some kind of understanding is helpful to bring things together.

What would be the average cost to start from scratch?

Can anyone give some direction, pointers, web address, information, etc to get me started.

bbayjohn

Senior elf
welcome to ACL Cybernautwa.
You can spend a fortune or go the DIY path and still spend a fortune for even more blinky.
Before you know it you will be suffering the clap along with the rest of us.

Thinkagainagain

New elf
Last year, first year with pixels and music, I estimate I spent around 6-8 hundred... This year, so far, I'm well over a grand... So yea, the addiction starts setting in...

i13

Dedicated elf
Hi Cybernautwa

Most displays start off small and we add to them as time, money and knowledge allow. I try to keep costs down by repairing old light sets and choosing new ones that I can repair in future - this works but takes time. I don't retire anything if it still works. Yes, there are newer and better setups out there but being satisfied with what you have makes a big difference. The setup allows me to control the store bought lights alongside the new pixels.

What do you want to have in your computer controlled display? My suggestion would be to figure out what you want this year and work toward that. You'll need to start ASAP to be ready for this year because the first year is the hardest.