1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Null pixels

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by mick8248, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. mick8248

    mick8248 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mildura
    I have some mini trees with 100 5v pixels on each, they are being driven by a ECG-P2 three trees on first output and three on the second, the first tree now has a pixel that the blue led doesn't work (no spares left to replace it) wanted to make this pixel a null pixel (could just wrap black tape around it so the red and green don't show), have played with the effects to make a null pixel but keep getting errors, what settings do I make in the effects to make the 20th pixel a null? On the output I have uni 1 170 pixels and uni 2 130 pixels.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    mick8248

    mick8248 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mildura
    Interesting fix for my problem, upon squeezing the molding of the pixel, the blue turned on, dodgy connection somewhere, so, one hose clamp applied and tightened and problem of pixel solved, still need to work out how to program the null pixel in the P2 though so I know what I am doing for next time
     
  3. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    I fixed a piece of pixel strip with a zip tie when it went intermittent after being put up. I'll fix it properly when it comes down.
     
  4. Boof63

    Boof63 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Kadina
    using p2 and null pixels only works if nulls are between P2 and the element, if so you can tell P2 to have a 1 x null in the string effect page and the first pixel should be blank. other wise the only way to blank it out is to add a null pixel into your elements pixel count or blank out the effects for that first pixel.
    cheers Boof63
     
  5. AussieDoug

    AussieDoug Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    The easiest solution is take all effects away from that pixel. If it can't turn on no one will know the difference :D
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,491
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I have always added a Null pixels in the sequencing and not the hardware and just left that channel blank, but thats because of old habits before controllers had the Null pixel capability
     
  7. caffeine

    caffeine Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne (Wantirna)
    First person to do a complete WIKI entry on Null pixels (what they are, when to use them, how to config them on popular boards) wins....














    my eternal appreciation.
     

Share This Page