1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

P10 display problem

Discussion in '101 Display Basics' started by SantaClaws, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Greetings,
    I am trying to include a P10 matrix (4(w)x5(h)) into my festive display on a Beaglebone Black as the display controller and FPP player. The main display is controlled by a Pixlite16 with static IP, and the BBB also has a static IP.

    So far, my LED strings and strips are responding well to the data being sent, and are looking great.
    It was an afterthought that I would try to include my P10 matrx from last year.
    Last year, I ran the P10s off a stand-alone BBB with a couple of sequences stored locally.

    I have 'played around' with various channel settings, with somewhat mixed results from absolutely nothing displayed to text in the centre of the 'screen'.
    However, when I tried to send effects to the P10s, the top-half of the display follows the data, but the bottom quarter either doesn't respond, responds with a delay or responds to fill the bottom rows but then doesn't clear when I hit the 'on- bulb' to extinguish the display (see pics).
    Can anyone please assist me with finding a solution?
    Any assistance would be appreciated
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    I can't see anything immediately wrong but there's an insane number of errors being shown on the FPP status page and a 100:1 ratio of packets being received by the lower universe numbers. Are you sending wirelessly by any chance or have you got other unicast universes defined and no destination for them or they aren't turned on.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Hi Allan,
    Thank you for the response.
    I have two locations set with static IPs, with UTP to both (Pixlite16 and BBB).
    Also, they are both turned on.

    The P10s have 10240 LEDs (30720 channels).
    I have setup 60 universes, but only the first 40 appear to receiving data.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Munno Para
    I can only think you may have overlapped some of your universes. Since we can't see all of the details in the images about how the universe numbers are assigned and the channels associated with them, I wonder if you haven't allowed enough channels for the panels.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I have attached screen dumps of universe list, also the xLights P10 layout.
    Hope this helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    You appear to have duplicated universe numbers. The Pixlite on .30 has universe 1 with FPP channel 1. The BBB/P10 has universe 1 with FPP channel 16321.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I changed the relevant universe numbers, but still having erroneous/fragmented display on the lower third of the matrix.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Munno Para
    I am not sure about P10 panels and if you should be using a universe size of 512, typically you would stick with universe sizes of 510 as that divides evenly. Someone else might be able to advise if using a universe size of 512 or 510 is better for panels.
     
  9. lithgowlights

    lithgowlights Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Lithgow, NSW
    Find Me On:
    P10's have to have 512 size universes (They use 3 universes and actually contain 512 pixels)
     
  10. dkulp

    dkulp Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Framingham, MA
    Couple of suggestions:
    1) Update to FPP 2.3 (or even flip to master branch). There have been a bunch of fixes already.
    2) Since you are using xLights, don't use e1.31 at all. Delete ALL the universes on the inputs tab on the BBB. (also, make sure you don't have any e1.31 outputs defined). In xLights, create a single DDP Output and assign it 30720 channels and give it the appropriate IP address. DDP is way more efficient, particularly for this use case.
    3) Turn on debug log in FPP for "Channel Outputs" and "E1.31 Bridge" and attach the last parts of the fppd.log file so I can see what it's doing.
     
    Derf likes this.
  11. OP
    OP
    SantaClaws

    SantaClaws New Elf

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I have updated FPP to ver 2.3 as recommended., but that hasn't changed anything in regards to the P10 display.
    If anything, I am now getting fewer errors in the data received.

    I don't know anything about DDP output, and was unsuccessful in finding out about actually using and configuring it.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page