pi-pixel

Discussion in 'SmartAlec Lights' started by smartalec, Mar 11, 2016.

  1. smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    Ive seen project over at DIYC go overboard.
    thats the Raspberry PI having 2 outputs both capable of 1000 pixels so i have herd..
    this is the output
    https://www.crockettfantasyoflights.com/product/pixel-pihat-rev-b/

    but if everyone knows me.. i like to do things cheap..
    https://www.crockettfantasyoflights.com/product/pixel-pihat-rev-b/
    I can do 2x ws2811 no fuse's for $3.
    Im asking for a rough idea so i know how many that board’s to get made.
    P.s. This is my 2016 giveback project, so let me know how many boards your interested in. (boards hopefully should be at all 2016 mini's for pickup) so cheap postage.
    if i dont get support i will only get 60 made, that will go fast.. so help me to help you.
     
  2. AussieDoug

    AussieDoug Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll grab 5 please Alec, not sure what for but they sound like a price I can handle :)

    Pick up from Melbourne mini.
     
  3. AAH

    AAH I love blinky lights :) Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eaglehawk
    Find Me On:
    The Crockett PiHat doesn't use any level conversion ICs so the 3.3V logic of the Raspberry Pi is being sent out to the pixels. This means the unbuffered data is out in the real world and any damage done on the pixel line will potentially damage the Pi rather than a buffer IC. Also, because the data is 3.3V rather than 5V the distance that you can get from the board to the first pixel will be dramatically reduced. A null pixel will fix this and will bring the data back to the true 5V that it should be. Also, on the distance from board to pixel, there are no line resistors installed. In order to match impedances all pixel drive lines should have resistors (as per the pixel data sheets) installed. This is designed to stop electronic reflections in the signal line which can potentially damage either the pixel or the IC that is driving the pixel line.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    I did think of adding the IC an resistors but that would increase the board size an therefore increasing the cost.
    But like you said a null pixel can solve this issue (or pixels attached closely to the device)

    Ive been thinking more (yer it hurts)
    As most people like long distances from the controller, I will add the IC an resistors.
    but it would boost the price up to $4 sadly,
    but in the end it would be better for all
     
  5. DavidJ247

    DavidJ247 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Narre Warren
    Find Me On:
    Sounds great Alec, I'll put my hand up for 5 also from the Melb mini.
    Thanks.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    The design is all done..
    Just have to send it off to the board house now..
    Perfect way to control pixels on a budget only $4 each.

    [​IMG]

    P.s. I also changed the name to 'Pixel-Pi' now
     
  7. bjpc2716

    bjpc2716 need more lights to light up the world

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    melbourne
    Find Me On:
    a couple for me
     
  8. OP
    OP
    smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    Boards are sent to the board house..
    Now the slow wait (1month) till i get them.. (one of the ways i keep costs down)
    Then there will be 60 board (kits)

    AussieDoug = 5 board (kits) (Melb mini)
    DavidJ247 = 5 boards (built) (Melb mini)
    Bjpc2716 = 5 boards (kits) (Adel mini)
    Smartalec = 5 boards (kits)
    CaptianMurdoch = 3 blank boards (American post)
    Ron = 2 boards (built)
    gerry = 5 boards (built) (Melb mini)
    logandc99 = 5 boards (built) (Syd mini)
    adski = 5 boards (kits) (Adel mini)
    darylc = 5 boards (kits) (Adel mini)
    BensChristmas = 2 boards (kits) (Syd mini)
    Emersonlights = 5 boards (built) (Qld post)
    robj = 5 boards (kits) (usa post)

    Mini's Giveaway = 3 boards (built) (1 for each mini - Melb, Syd, Adel)

    So that Now leaves 0 boards left for this batch,
    I will also be stocking these in my Online Shop for future sales

    (Its easy DIP Soldering, only 64 joins) - the 3 smd parts will be already soldered (by me)
    but if you wish these to be completely soldered there will be a extra $1 cost per board

    Please Note - This is only a Interest Thread an no-one will be held to there order
     
  9. gerry

    gerry Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Surrey Hills,Melbourne
    Hi,

    Please put me down for 5 boards
     
  10. logandc99

    logandc99 Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    1
    Find Me On:
    I'll take 5 please (would prefer completed soldering for the extra $1 per board) pick up Sydney mini if possible.
     
  11. adski

    adski Dave Brown

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Two Wells, SA
    Hey Alec ...... just to clarify,

    It looks like you've omitted the RTC from the Crockett design, which prompts the question - is the board compatible with the common RTC modules that connect to the 1st 5 pins (1,3,5,7,9) of the GPIO header? The 2x20 socket could extend the pins through to the RTC board, but I see a clearance issue with the pixel connector, although I guess you could omit the connector and solder wires directly to those pads.

    Assuming an RTC can be fitted, I'll take 5.

    Dave
     
  12. OP
    OP
    smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    never bothered with the RTC clock, but yes you could solder a extended pin header on for it. an yes it is compatible.
    if i was'nt going to keep the project cheap i could of added it..
    but i thought the use of the IC for longer distances would be a better feature than a clock
     
  13. adski

    adski Dave Brown

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Two Wells, SA
    The clock's pretty-well essential for what I have in mind, but easily fitted, so I'll take 5. Thanks.
     
  14. damo

    damo New Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a bad feeling that I'm a little too late to this conversation. Any left ?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    smartalec

    smartalec Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    it's still a group interest as the boards are still being made
    still 10boards left
     

Share This Page