1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Pixel Data Regeneration?

Discussion in 'The Family Room' started by Giles1, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. Giles1

    Giles1 New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This is my first year for Pixel Lights. I’ve now got Lights, a Controller and 3 power supplies. Now I just need to master the software, finish planning my display, while also factoring in Power injection, as well as not exceeding initial cables lengths for Data and then I just need to build everything!!

    Which leads me to my question.
    For at least one run, I think my lights will be more than 4 metres away from my Controller, so I’ll need to think about a “Null Pixel’ or other type of regenerator. I was just reading the “AusChristmasLighting - 101 Reference for Everyone”, which covers this issue. I don’t really want to cut off a Pixels from one of my brand new Strings, just to make a Null Pixel, so I was interested in the J1SYS ECG-PPX that was mentioned (Page 60). However, it appears the Hyperlink isn’t working and even when I add the address directly to my Browser, the Site still doesn’t come up. I even tried searching for “J1SYS ECG-PPX” on Google, but with no success.

    So I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction for what options I would have for different types of Pixel Data regenerators.

    Thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. OzAz

    OzAz Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Newcastle
    There's various pixel extenders available, @smartalec sells some on his shop plus a few others sell them
     
    Giles1 likes this.
  3. SmartAlecLights

    SmartAlecLights Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
  4. keithsw1111

    keithsw1111 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Kellyville, NSW
    Find Me On:
    You should not need a null pixel for 4m
     
    SmartAlecLights likes this.
  5. Ralphyf1

    Ralphyf1 New Elf

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    2 Brook Court , Kidman Park
    from my Falcon I go up to 11m using cat5 to the first pixel with no problems. Going from one pixel string to the next however I can only get about 3m without a null pixel. Hope that helps
     
    Giles1 likes this.
  6. djgra79

    djgra79 Senior Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Cranbourne West
    Find Me On:
    I can get about 10m from controller to first pixel, both 5v and 12v. I suggest maybe trial and error first? If it doesn't work as it should, then look into nulls as required.
     
  7. andrewa

    andrewa Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Frankston North, Victoria
    Find Me On:
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,497
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    A null pixel can be as simple as just using a cut out pixel from a string as the signal from each pixel regenerates the data and then either just covering it with black tape or allocating it as a null pixel in the software or the controller. Generally the distance away from the controller will vary between users based of a many factors, so with 4 metres then I would try without a null pixel first and then see if you need it. What also may work on the bench may vary when installed due to the added interference from when the show is running
     

Share This Page