Power Supply

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Noel Richards, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. Noel Richards

    Noel Richards Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    77 Watkin Ave Woy Woy
    Just wandering looking at buying some power supplies for the system I am building up question is when I check out the specs you have different specs is it better just to buy the 12v 350w so you have more W than you need, also I read at power injection my mega tree will start of with 8 strips off 50 lights made up of 4 sets of 100 lights will I need to inject power after 2 and can I run that injection off of 1 of the spare outlets on the power supply.


    This is the PS I'm looking at - https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/12V-350W-switch-mode-power-supply-LED-power-driver-AC90-260V-input-DC12V-350W-output-constant/701799_1948832565.html?spm=2114.12010612.0.0.Zp2YbT


    Noel
     
  2. cdjazman

    cdjazman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    11
    Noel,

    I am running a 20 x 33 pixel 2811 strip mega tree and have 3 x 350w power supplies providing power and multiple power injection for this.

    :) :)
     
    Noel Richards likes this.
  3. heathwithnoteeth

    heathwithnoteeth Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    sheidow park
    i have a 36 string - 60 (5v) per string mega tree.


    have three 320w-5v supplies running it, including a f16v2


    inject at the bottom of every string. ran flawlessly on the power side.


    I had some data corruption, but that was an entirely different issue.
     
  4. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:

    Can you tell us more about your pixels/controller/setup? At a guess, you're using something like this https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/DC12V-input-12mm-WS2811-pixel-node-100pcs-a-string-IP68-rated/701799_735790044.html?spm=2114.12010612.0.0.X2FgXK
    If so, 400 nodes working consumption is only 120W. If you are running 4 sets of 100 nodes out of 4 ports on a controller, it should be fine without injection, as long as distance to nodes from controller isn't too great.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Noel Richards

    Noel Richards Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    77 Watkin Ave Woy Woy
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    Make sure you only load up the power supply to approx. 80 to 85% for those power supplies. So the max load I would apply to these is 300 watts to a cheap 350watt power supply
     
  7. Habbosrus

    Habbosrus New house (again) 2017

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swansea, NSW
    Find Me On:
    Is there a reason you're changing from 12v on tree to 5v on star? Just curious. If you standardise with 12v, you may find it a little easier when starting out. You'd be able to run all from one power supply too, if you wanted. 470 nodes x .3W would only be 141W. Just an observation
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Noel Richards

    Noel Richards Apprentice Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    77 Watkin Ave Woy Woy

    Only that I have a frame from an old display I had which died at xmas so looking that only a 50 pixel light string will fit it and they are 5 Volts.
     
  9. Lishfish

    Lishfish Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Find Me On:
    When working out how much power you need on a psu do you calculate the watts or the amperage?
     
  10. heathwithnoteeth

    heathwithnoteeth Full Time Elf Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    sheidow park
    watts is volts x amps
     
  11. Lishfish

    Lishfish Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Find Me On:
    Maybe I should rephrase. Say my lights consume 15w per 50 at 3A. How would I work out the power supply requirements?
     
  12. OzAz

    OzAz Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Newcastle
    here's my (rough) spreadsheet I used to work out power supply requirements.
    Make sure you read the comments on each of the headings (hover mouse over them) to see what they mean.
    Enter your details in the green boxes only.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Lishfish

    Lishfish Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Find Me On:
    Thanks for that OzAz that helps a lot. :)
     
  14. Kitman

    Kitman Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Munno Para
    My Mega tree is 36 stings of 12v WS2811. Each string is 47 nodes and is wired in zig zag so each continuous length is 96 pixels. This is wired from the input end of each continuous string only no power injection at all and is running off a 500w 12v power supply and ran perfectly fine all season.


    You don't need to use multiple small power supplies, you can just use 1 large power supply as long as you are not at the limit of the listed rating. As Eddy has stated 80% - 85% is a good number, I think mine is a little more than 85% but I never fully tested while it was running I will be testing it this year though to make sure.
     
  15. OzAz

    OzAz Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Newcastle
    and there's always the option of lowering the brightness and thus reducing current draw, handy if close to the 80-85% limit.


    I had my strips at 60% (via controller) and they were still very bright 8)
     

Share This Page