Ppoe and the p2

Discussion in 'EthConGateway by Joshua 1 Systems' started by Binkles, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. Binkles

    Binkles Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Baldivis
    Find Me On:
    Ok, still waiting for an invoice, but that doesn't stop me reading....


    I'm likely going to use both 5v and 12v. Thinking I can run 5v off one output, and 12 off the other.


    1. Is that possible...


    2. If I got one of these suckers
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Power-over-Ethernet-POE-48V-injector-/221091207410?pt=AU_Components&hash=item337a1018f2&_uhb=1#ht_646wt_689
    [/size]
    [/size]Can I use that to power the strings? If not why not... Actually no, if not what could I use.
    [/size]
    [/size]3. Is using ppoe any use?
    [/size]
    [/size]4. Would I be better off just running 12v for pixels and strips.
    [/size]
    [/size]5. What is the meaning of life....
    [/size]
    [/size]I feel the first 4 questions are the most important ones..
     
  2. harrisonk

    harrisonk Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Find Me On:
    To answer the POE, These use PASSIVE POE, so that device you linked would not work but this would


    The P2 circuitry is not designed to power the pixels through the unit unless its a very small string.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Binkles

    Binkles Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Baldivis
    Find Me On:
    So I'm still better off using a normal power supply, as to make full use of the number of pixels, I'm not going to be running a small string I'm guessing.
     
  4. harrisonk

    harrisonk Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Find Me On:
    You cant run the power for the pixels through the P2's itself, on the output-side of the P2 you splice in the power from your PSU.


    Ive attached the Quick start info and that should help you with the power set up.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. OP
    OP
    Binkles

    Binkles Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Baldivis
    Find Me On:
    Gulp, that read double Dutch to me....

    When I get the board, some lights and juicing machines i think I'll try and organise a chat session to set it up.

    Bet it's clear as day, just can't see it at the mo.
     

Share This Page