Problems Getting My D4 working with DC48

PaulVernon

New elf
Joined
Nov 7, 2012
Messages
19
Location
Secret Harbour
Good Morning All
I can't get my D4 to show link lights when connecting to the DC48 (does it need to)
Looks like the D4 is setup correct - thanks to YL for this.
Any Help would be great
Thanks
Paul
 

David_AVD

Really old (now a Grandpa)
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,223
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
Hi Paul,
I've not seen a D4 close up so not sure what LEDs it has on it.

I guess the first thing to ask is do the Ethernet LEDs on the DR4 come on or flash?

If so, can you access the D4 via a browser to set it up? (universe, etc)
 

PaulVernon

New elf
Joined
Nov 7, 2012
Messages
19
Location
Secret Harbour
Thanks David
Yes the D4 is accessible - YL Set that up for me :)I used a normal cat5/6 cable from the d4 to the dc48.
 

PaulVernon

New elf
Joined
Nov 7, 2012
Messages
19
Location
Secret Harbour
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/39102242/IMG_0058.JPG


https://dl.dropbox.com/u/39102242/IMG_0057.JPG


a few pictures - at the moment it doesnt matter what lights i have hooked up does it - we just need to test if data is getting to board?
Thanks
 

David_AVD

Really old (now a Grandpa)
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,223
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
What software are you using to send data to the D4 ?

Unless you have keel-alives turned on, there won't be any DMX activity unless you send the D4 some E1.31 data to pass onto the DC48.
 

Benslights

Dedicated elf
Global moderator
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
2,772
Location
Elderslie
yeah it is a strange one David. i was helping Paul with it and we setup the keepalive and also used your software for testing.
 

PaulVernon

New elf
Joined
Nov 7, 2012
Messages
19
Location
Secret Harbour
ok i loaded up da_start
and now the light on the d4 (orange is flashing) and the dmx light on the board is flashing
 
Top