Programming abilities - LSP

What options would you take advantage of, if offered:

• Development of effect plugins in .NET

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Scripting of various features from within LSP

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Both plugins and scripting.

Votes: 6 60.0%
  • Not interesting in programming (although I have the ability)

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • I'm not a programmer

Votes: 3 30.0%

• Total voters

kane

Dedicated elf
Hey All

I have been liaising with David at LSP regarding the ability to programatically sequence through LSP. Given a lot of people here are technically orientated, I figured that many others are also programmers that could really get some benefit out of this.

Therefore, I thought I'd take a quick poll on what people would be interested in. David mentioned that I'm the only one that has asked about anything like this, but my guess is that there's plenty of others out there that would be keen (but just haven't let him know!)

The option to develop an effect plugin in .NET is already supported in LSP (there is an option to install an effect .DLL), however there is currently no documentation, or sample code, so it's not really possible to get started yet. David has said he'll get some sample code in the next few days, so this will be interesting. My guess is that via an effect plugin, we'll be able to create a new effect in the toolbar, that when applied to channels across given intervals, we can create custom functionality.. Eg, you could write a Mega Tree spinning effect, or an effect that does some tricky work with a custom element.

Another thing that I would like is the ability to script - for any repetitive tasks, if you could setup a script to run certain commands, I think you could save a lot of time. This could be either via LUA or VBA or whatever.

Anyone else got any thoughts or suggestions?

Kane

kane

Dedicated elf
Forgot to mention, I have also been playing with directly modifying the LSP .msq files.