1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Question about usage of PixLite16's DMX in/out

Discussion in 'Advatek Lights' started by tmarshal61, Jan 8, 2014.

  1. tmarshal61

    tmarshal61 New Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question:
    In addition to an E1.31 ethernet input, the Pixlite16 has a standard DMX in and out. The manual mentions very little about it. I would think that one could use a standard DMX input rather than an E1.31 Ethernet input but what little I did find in the manual about it confuses me. The manual states:


    The usage of the phrase "in addition to ethernet" above implies that it is, or at least can be, used in conjunction with Ethernet. What are some possible usage scenarios for using the DMX in/out? Can one use DMX input to the controller with no ethernet? Could you have both as the verbage above implies? How would that work? Can it act as a E1.31 to DMX bridge where we input E1.32 via the Ethernet and output DMX via the DMX out?


    The reason I ask is that I would like run some standard DMX512 devices and I am trying to figure out what my options are. Do I need to purchase a E1.31 to DMX bridge or can this be done through the PixLite without a bridge? If I need a bridge, can I run E1.31 to the bridge and then DMX from the bridge to the DMX in on the PixLite16.

    Would this be one possible valid configuration?:
    [​IMG]
    What would be some other possible configurations using DMX?
     
  2. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    The DMX output on this performs like an e1.31 to dmx bridge - so assuming that you only need one universe (up to 512 channels), then you wouldn't need to also get an e1.31 to dmx bridge
     
  3. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    Actually, on second thoughts, I had just assumed these ports were the same as other devices (such as the j1sys p12s), which have two dmx ports, but these are both outputs (2 separate universes), effectively giving you a D2.

    But having a look at the manual, I don't think this is the case.. I am thinking that the pixlite16 could be configured to receive signals via DMX, so for example, you could setup canned sequences on the device, and trigger these via DMX..

    If this is the case, then unfortunately the device wouldn't replace the need for an e1.31 to DMX bridge - you'd still need one.

    Might be best for the advatek guys will need to respond to explain this one. :)
     
  4. ltay13

    ltay13 Full Time Elf Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern Melbourne
    The PixLite controller comes with the hardware capability to have a DMX input OR output. There are 2 physical jacks on there so that you could connect the controller in the middle of a normal DMX chain if using the DMX function as an input. So yes, your above diagram is a technically correct posibility.


    However although we physically have the DMX input/output there - we haven't programmed any functions for it yet, it is there for future expansion. In the near future we will be adding support for the PixLite to output DMX from that port based on sACN data it receives via ethernet (essentially a single output sACN to DMX bridge).


    Our new revision of the controller that we are currently building will have 4 DMX output ports on it allowing for 4 individual universes of DMX output (essential adding the capability of something like a D4 to the PixLite).


    So far the applications for implementing the PixLite as a DMX receiver are a bit too limited to warrant implementing but the physical ability will be there should we decide to add something on that front at a later date.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    tmarshal61

    tmarshal61 New Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, it sounds like, for the moment, the DMX in/out cannot be used at all? That is not a problem.


    Thanks for the information!
     
  6. Devo

    Devo Apprentice Elf Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    Correct.
    We will be releasing a firmware upgrade soon for the current board revision (V3.2) to allow a single channel DMX universe output.
    The newer V3.3 board will be released soon (with 4 functional DMX universe outputs as mentioned above.)
     
  7. caffeine

    caffeine Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne (Wantirna)

    Excellent! It's one of those things that sounds like a brilliant little add on. I can't think of what exactly I will use it /need it for but I'm quite certain I'll find something!


    Anything else new in the 3.3 board you want to hint at?


    EDIT: Actually make it a big reveal/launch at the Melbourne Mini
     
  8. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,487
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    i hope we see the addition of a pixel hardware test pattern for these boards
     
  9. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    That makes it a pretty feature rich board!

    off topic, but do you guys have plans for any boards with less outputs? (ie, equivalent of a P2)
     
  10. Devo

    Devo Apprentice Elf Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    Eddy - yes as has already been previously confirmed, there will also be a self-test feature added in the next firmware update for the PixLite 16.
    Kane - yes we think it will be a very powerful and feature-rich controller providing lots of options for users. We have discussed releasing a PixLite 4 controller in time for next season, but it really depends on whether their would be enough demand out there to justify production.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    tmarshal61

    tmarshal61 New Elf

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I will be eagerly awaiting the 3.2 firmware. It is a great controller as is.
    ...and you can count me in for one of the new 3.3 boards.
    Excellent! That would have saved me some hassles this season. I was having some issues getting Vixen to behave and I was about to blame it on the PixLite but I swapped out the board with a spare I had and the problem persisted. A self test would have helped me rule out problems with the board much quicker.
     
  12. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    If possible to do 4 output, with 2 (or even 4?) universes per output, for approx $100, I reckon that'd be a massively popular. Whether that's viable is another question!

    If you have a feel for what is viable, it's definately worth sounding out everyone here - could probably even take pre-orders to ensure you get enough solid interest to justify production.. A bit like kickstarter?
     
  13. caffeine

    caffeine Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne (Wantirna)
    It's interesting actually. Initially I thought I was paying a 'premium' for being able to get my stuff locally and quickly, which I was happy to do.


    After digging however and comparing multiple P2's with the PixLite board not so in terms of $'s per universe.


    Likewise for my plug and play solution versus a P12 + power + cables + nice waterproof housing + effort.


    I too would like to see more Advatek controllers around, and will likely buy them, but I think there is a bigger whole in the market to be filled by them in the 'convenience' arena. Kind of like an RGB version of LOR, except well liked by all :)
     
  14. radatti

    radatti New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    So can i expect to see Artnet on this new software version as well??? Please :p
     
  15. Devo

    Devo Apprentice Elf Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Find Me On:
    Artnet support is in the works yes...it won't be in the very next firmware release, but it is high on our priority list.
     

Share This Page