Quick Question

CShuler

New elf
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Messages
10
Location
Texas
After many long hours browsing the forums, reading manuals, flip-floping my mind, my decision has come down to Light Show Pro (basic version to start my first year). My goal is 100% RGB LEDs. My question is this, if I have the basic version of LSP with a max of 512 channels, can I have all my lights on one Enttec Pro controller even though my lights would be a mix of smart RGB pixel modules, RGB floods, and dumb RGB strings? In such that if I have first a strand of smart RGB pixel modules that then lead to RGB floods back to more smart modules then to some dumb strings (as long as everything is connected along the data wire in order, with several power sources along the way). Or do I need 3 controllers, one for each type of light (smart modules, floods and dumb strings)? I don't have any hardware yet to test things out, but wanted to know since I am already trying to do some sequencing.
Thanks :)
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
One DMX dongle will do all what you need as the DMX dongle is what converts the PC signal to a DMX signal to then talk to the various DMX controllers. So it wont matter what type of DMX controller is hooked up to the DMX dongle
You will still need a dmx DC controller and a DMX pixel controller connected to the dmx dongle to run your lights.
 

CShuler

New elf
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Messages
10
Location
Texas
Thanks, that really helps :) I'm getting pretty good at working in LSP, can't wait to start getting all the hardware to finally fully understand and put it all together.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
CShuler said:
Thanks, that really helps :) I'm getting pretty good at working in LSP, can't wait to start getting all the hardware to finally fully understand and put it all together.
You may also want to take a look at this thread as there is diagrams and a its also worth downloading the layout diagram as it shows DMX and E1.31 networks and how they can be connected

http://auschristmaslighting.com/forums/index.php/topic,1211.0.html
 

Santa James

New elf
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
2
Location
Carrollton Georgia
I already have the Enttec pro, with dumb rgb modules/strings running. I would like to add some pixel strings. What type of dongle/decoder/controller do I need to buy to add to the chain, so the smart rgb's will work?
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
Santa James said:
I already have the Enttec pro, with dumb rgb modules/strings running. I would like to add some pixel strings. What type of dongle/decoder/controller do I need to buy to add to the chain, so the smart rgb's will work?
Depending on how many pixels you will be adding will determine if you use DMX or E1.31

If the total channel count is below 512 channels or under 170 pixels then you can use your dongle with this for the 2801 pixels

http://www.aliexpress.com/fm-store/701799/209915969-509914025/LT-DMX-2801-DMX-SPI-Decoder-support-WS2801-WS2803-drving-IC.html

If your wanting to run more than 170 pixels then you would be better using an e1.31 pixel controllers like the ecg-pixad8

http://www.j1sys.com/ecg-pixad8/

If you hold out for a week ACL will have a comprehensive manual covering many of the subjects that you need to learn with easy to read diagrams and pictures.
 

Beacy

It's so much better on the dark side
Joined
Jun 10, 2010
Messages
467
Location
Beaconsfield
I used a dongle the 1st year and last switched over to e1.31 that I ran to a network switch which allowed me to run the digital pixels out of and also a DR4 out of it that allowed me to run all the DMX channels. Given your desire to run only pixels your channel count is going to grow very quickly and possibly you may have to replace the hardware where the method I used means I only have to buy a bigger network switch.


I'm not sure of the cost of the Enttec Pro but the network switches are pretty cheap and so is the DR4
 

Boof63

Senior elf
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
585
Location
Kadina
Can't wait for the manual, might save me asking a whole lot of questions about my 2012 setup and sort out the details swirling around the mist in my head.
cheers and thanks in anticipation.
boof63 :D :D :D
 

Blickensderfer

Ohio, USA
Joined
Jun 6, 2010
Messages
390
Location
Gnadenhutten, OH
CShuler,
The hardware that RJ uses for his PixelNet is not supported by no other hardware controller. RJ didn't use a technology standard protocol on his PixelNet. The pixels themselves are using the TX1804 standard and that TX1804 is supported by Ed on his ECG pixel controllers along with SANdevices E68X pixel controllers.
If you are wanting equipment that is not designed by RJ to connect to his PixelNet Hub and SmartString Controllers, there isn't anything.
 

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Joined
Apr 26, 2010
Messages
6,645
Location
Albion Park NSW
CShuler said:
Can't wait to see the manual.
FastEddy, what about the ECG-PPD-B? Do you know if this is similar to what RJ uses for his smart strings? (http://diylightanimation.com/index.php?topic=3554.0)
The ECG-PPD-B is basically a pixel and power extender so you can increase the range between the controller and the pixels. This should work with any pixel controller. It is not a pixel controller but instead an extender.


edit: Last comment removed
 

AussiePhil

Dedicated elf
Administrator
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
1,386
Location
Canberra, ACT, Australia
CShuler said:
Can't wait to see the manual.
FastEddy, what about the ECG-PPD-B? Do you know if this is similar to what RJ uses for his smart strings? (http://diylightanimation.com/index.php?topic=3554.0)
Hi

Just really an echo of Blicks post above.
RJ has created a Propriority Sytem with PixelNet that appears even more closed than LOR hardware in this case.
The basic strings RJ uses are just standard TM1804 pixels and these can be driven by a range of controllers.
It's the PixelNet hardware that is not interoperable with all the other solutions for Pixels currently available.

Phil
 

miw01

New elf
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
8
Location
Manchester
Well!


What appeared to be a Quick Question has turned out to be a whole load of baggage being exposed to a Newbe who is trying to understand what is new tech and what is smoke and mirrors by others to disguise open or closed, its starting to make sense but I worry that some are losing the plot over the pond, maybe commercialism is taking control
 

AussiePhil

Dedicated elf
Administrator
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
1,386
Location
Canberra, ACT, Australia
miw01 said:
Well!


What appeared to be a Quick Question has turned out to be a whole load of baggage being exposed to a Newbe who is trying to understand what is new tech and what is smoke and mirrors by others to disguise open or closed, its starting to make sense but I worry that some are losing the plot over the pond, maybe commercialism is taking control
Mike,
by over the pond i assume you are referring to Aus considering you are not here.... ACL remains a committed to education and DIY but it is a fact that prebuilt equipment is becoming a fact for Pixel control. When you can buy quality products from Community Designers that are committed to iteroperability by using industry standards then we as a community will support those products.
Even DIYC with it's E68x series cannot provide the value for money Pixel solution that a J1SYS P12R can with it's 12 universe support whilst still working with industry standards.
Baggage... seriously all that was posted above has been FACT nothing more, nothing less.
If you think for one second that I personally am anti RJ then don't.... RJ and I go back to before DLA and if you check my profile over there i think i'm either member 2 or 3 on DLA. I have respect for RJ's work and even use quite a bit of LYNX equipment.

Phil
 
Top