Ray RGB Flood question

jediknight2

Full time elf
Joined
Aug 30, 2012
Messages
196
Location
North Carolina
I got my second flood from ray and it is different than the last. The first one had just the wires. The one I just got has the DMX in and DMX out plugs on it.

Am I correct in assuming I can cut the heat shrink back and the wiring will be like the last one...
 

grungle25

Apprentice elf
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
53
Location
Darwin
Without seeing it I couldn't say 100% but does it have the same colour code sticker on it? The one showing DMX+ as blue (or whatever it is, I can't remember). Cut it back and have a look I reckon.

On a side note I am thinking about going around the inbuilt DMX controller as I can't seem to get the keep alive sorted on my ECG-D4. That way I can just treat each flood as a standard RGB light and hook it up to my AAH MEGA60..
 

Superman

I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious
Global moderator
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
1,730
Location
Ipswich-QLD
Yes, if you take the 4 screws off the back and pop the controller out the cables are clearly labeled
 

Superman

I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious
Global moderator
Joined
May 29, 2010
Messages
1,730
Location
Ipswich-QLD
grungle25 said:
On a side note I am thinking about going around the inbuilt DMX controller as I can't seem to get the keep alive sorted on my ECG-D4. That way I can just treat each flood as a standard RGB light and hook it up to my AAH MEGA60..
These controllers can't be removed and controlled with a DC controller as they need constant current not constant voltage. I already tried that. Epic Fail.
 

David_AVD

Bite my shiny metal ass!
Community project designer
Generous elf
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
4,172
Location
Victoria Point (Brisbane)
Here's how to wire one of these 10W RGB floods for P-DMX operation. The RJ45 end is T568B standard.

I removed the original 5 core cable (and crappy XLR3 plugs) and wired the CAT5 cable straight into the DMX module inside the flood's rear cover.

CAT5 Brown & Brown/White is 0V (module black wire)
CAT5 Blue & Blue/White is +12V (module red wire)
CAT5 Orange is DMX - (module blue)
CAT5 Orange/White is DMX + (module yellow wire)
CAT5 Green & Green/White wires are not connected
The DMX GND wire from the module is not connected



I have a couple of these running on 7m & 10m CAT5 cables from one of my P-DMX distributor boards.

 

pagrosse

New elf
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
14
So how do you program the channel? Do you need one of those in-line DMX channel selectors or are there dip switches?
 
Top