1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

Ray RGB Flood question

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by jediknight2, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I got my second flood from ray and it is different than the last. The first one had just the wires. The one I just got has the DMX in and DMX out plugs on it.

    Am I correct in assuming I can cut the heat shrink back and the wiring will be like the last one...
     
  2. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Should be. One way to find out! :D
     
  3. grungle25

    grungle25 New Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Darwin
    Without seeing it I couldn't say 100% but does it have the same colour code sticker on it? The one showing DMX+ as blue (or whatever it is, I can't remember). Cut it back and have a look I reckon.

    On a side note I am thinking about going around the inbuilt DMX controller as I can't seem to get the keep alive sorted on my ECG-D4. That way I can just treat each flood as a standard RGB light and hook it up to my AAH MEGA60..
     
  4. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    Yes, if you take the 4 screws off the back and pop the controller out the cables are clearly labeled
     
  5. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    These controllers can't be removed and controlled with a DC controller as they need constant current not constant voltage. I already tried that. Epic Fail.
     
  6. David_AVD

    David_AVD Bite my shiny metal ass!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    Find Me On:
    Here's how to wire one of these 10W RGB floods for P-DMX operation. The RJ45 end is T568B standard.

    I removed the original 5 core cable (and crappy XLR3 plugs) and wired the CAT5 cable straight into the DMX module inside the flood's rear cover.

    CAT5 Brown & Brown/White is 0V (module black wire)
    CAT5 Blue & Blue/White is +12V (module red wire)
    CAT5 Orange is DMX - (module blue)
    CAT5 Orange/White is DMX + (module yellow wire)
    CAT5 Green & Green/White wires are not connected
    The DMX GND wire from the module is not connected

    [​IMG]

    I have a couple of these running on 7m & 10m CAT5 cables from one of my P-DMX distributor boards.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. pagrosse

    pagrosse New Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    So how do you program the channel? Do you need one of those in-line DMX channel selectors or are there dip switches?
     
  8. OP
    OP
    jediknight2

    jediknight2 Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    you need the programmer
     
  9. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:

Share This Page