Recommendations for FM transmitter

coopz05

Apprentice elf
I need an FM transmitter for my first display this year.

What are peoples recommendations for me? what do you use?

I don't want one that requires any soldering or assembly.

It needs to reach 25m+ and through a window (but I don't think the window would hinder the signal much anyway)

Please send some links if you have them.

Thanks in advance

coopz05

Apprentice elf
Do they have to built assembled?

Do parts just click together? anything harder than that or soldering required is a but sketchy for me. Im a newbie to this stuff.

Does it come with AU power cord?

Do you have one you want to sell maybe?

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
They come as a simple 'KIT' which means putting the IC into the socket and maybe soldering on the mains power lead to the cannon plug for the power supply and thats it

I cant remember if it came with AU plug but a simple 12vdc power supply does the trick

I like mine too much to part with it

Ask Ryan (ryanschristmaslights) who got one not too long ago and had the same concerns you did.

kane

Dedicated elf
InTheSpirit said:
Do they have to built assembled?

Do parts just click together? anything harder than that or soldering required is a but sketchy for me. Im a newbie to this stuff.

Does it come with AU power cord?

Do you have one you want to sell maybe?

The EDM kits come 99% assembled - they just need the 12v power input socket soldered on. (I'm not 100% sure why they do that - perhaps some countries don't allow FM transmitters to be imported, which they can get around by selling as a "kit").. It's a VERY easy job to solder, but if you're frightened off, then I'd go for another option.

Many people here use the cheap ebay ones, with varying levels of satisfaction. Those are generally plug and play.

I doubt anyone would have an EDM device spare..

(I also use an EDM device, and it works well)

fasteddy

I have C.L.A.P
Global moderator
Kane said: