Replacement power supply for CCR

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by dpavisic, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    I have had a few CCR power supplies die on me. Can anyone recommend a good replacement? The CCR manual says it is

    12 VDC 3amp power barrel centre positive. The supplied low voltage adapter provides 12vdc @ 3 amps

    many thanks
     
  2. OP
    OP
    dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Sorry guys but I should also have asked whether you would suggest 1 power supply per CCR or can I run multiple CCRs of the 1 power supply with some sort of splitter?
     
  3. David_AVD

    David_AVD Good news, everyone!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,338
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Victoria Point (Brisbane)
    We sell a 12V 3.3A switchmode power supply (Mean Well brand) for $38.50 if that helps.

    You should also be able to use one larger supply to power multiple CCR controllers.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Am I right in saying that one of these mean well power packs will only service 1 CCR as it requires 3amps? Or is there a bigger power pack to service multiple CCRs?
     
  5. Slite

    Slite Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mölnbo, Sweden
    I think Dave just used that as an example for a 3.3 amp version that is closest to the CCR original.

    He is selling Mean Well 12 power supplies up to 25 amps on his site, that could run a bunch of CCR's
     
  6. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    For a bunch of my CCR controllers I just cut the power pack off and run from a 12VDC 350 watt power supply using the old cut off cannon plug
     
  7. OP
    OP
    dpavisic

    dpavisic Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thank you all. Looks like this is the way to go. When you cut off the power packs, do you just twist all the connections together and hook them up directly to the power supply or is there some better way of doing it?

    many thanks
     
  8. kane

    kane Dedicated Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trigg (Northern suburbs of Perth)
    Find Me On:
    Depends where your power supplies are in relation to the CCR.

    Myself, I keep all my power supplies centrally, and run cables out to my various items, which means the only place I have 240v is in my garage. I then have waterproof connectors on the end of a cable, and the opposite connector on the item, to allow quick connection and disconnection.

    Others prefer to have a de-centralised approach with power supplies scattered throughout the yard.
     
  9. fasteddy

    fasteddy I have C.L.A.P Global Moderator Generous Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,471
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Albion Park NSW
    Find Me On:
    I take on a cetralized, distributed approach, which means I have 4 areas on my property/house where I have control stations that i then distribute all my lighting from. I do this for 2 reasons, to minimise low voltage cable runs for both cost and reducing voltage loss.

    I have 3 CCRs just with the power packs cut off and just twisted the wires together and connected to the power supply. Not much easier way than that
     

Share This Page