1. New to Christmas lighting? Get started with the AusChristmasLighting 101 Manual:
    auschristmaslighting.com/wiki/AusChristmasLighting-101

RGB Theatre Room idea's

Discussion in 'RGB Lights - Intelligent Pixels and 3-Channel RGB' started by burner, Apr 21, 2014.

  1. burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy all,

    I'm back after almost burning myself right out from last years display (as well as other projects running at the same time).

    I'm currently assisting my brother with building his house, and we are almost at plastering stage downstairs and starting to cable. He is wanting to build a theatre room with a 300mm square bulkhead around the ceiling (ceiling is 13ft high, as it's an old Victorian style house that we have extended out and up). The room is around 5.5m long and around 4m wide. I was suggesting that he put in 2 LED strips on each side (and possibly all sides) and face them upwards, so the bulkhead would need to have a 10-15mm extension at the base, so that we can 3M tape the strip to it.

    Ideally I'm looking for a wireless controlled solution that can control all the strips as 1 unit, running off some transformers for power. The strips can be dumb strips, but I want to offer different colours and be able to dim the lighting too.

    I searched the forum for the word Theatre, but nothing came up. Has anyone put our hobby to use in the theatre arena? Can anyone suggest something that would suit from Ray Wu's store?

    Burner (Brian)
     
  2. SmartAlecLights

    SmartAlecLights Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    Ray has what you need.. like usal..lol
    this was the search i did at his store http://www.aliexpress.com/store/701799/search?SearchText=rgb+dimmer

    it could be a basic one like this http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/LED-RGB-Dimmer-DC12V-input-4A-3channels-output-P-N-KL-XDIMMER-3CH-LV/701799_312883584.html

    or a fancy one like this http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/RF-8-key-LED-RGB-controller-with-dimmering-function-DC12V-input-Max8A-each-channel-output/701799_320710342.html

    or a medium of the range one like this http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/3-channel-RGB-dimmer-DC12-24V-input-5A-3channel-output/701799_538733303.html

    what ever way you go you need to add up the dumb strips current so you dont blow the controller.. an since its a theatre room, you would realy want a remote as well as wall based controler

    thats the best i can do with a 3min search in rays store.. :D
     
  3. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    I have used basic controllers from ray that have IR remotes. the good thing about them is you can copy the IR codes from the remote and use them with a Universal remote that will also controller the theater
     
  4. andrewa

    andrewa Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Frankston North, Victoria
    Find Me On:
  5. OP
    OP
    burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    yes that is brightness. the other thing to consider with these types of controllers are that they are RGBW so if you put them of a cyle pattern they will go black after Blue.
    the good thing is you can add white strip to it and you get a nice white light in the room thats better then RGB white.
    I would be using RGB strip and white strip in my theater room if it was
    me.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    He is still going to put in a few LED downlights into the room for the white light, so it's no big deal. I'm not sure what the RGBW is, does that mean there is 4 terminals/channels? Can I just use the RGB channels in this case?
     
  8. Superman

    Superman I Have C.L.A.P and its very infectious Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Ipswich-QLD
    Find Me On:
    RGBW is 5 terminals
    red
    green
    blue
    white
    common

    yes you can just use the wheel on the remote to select a static color
     
  9. OP
    OP
    burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. ԆцряєсϮ

    ԆцряєсϮ Senior Elf

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Botanic Ridge
    Find Me On:
    You could run all 4 strips off 1 x 350W power supply which would save you some dollars.... Unless for some reason you need 4 separate supplies?
     
  11. SmartAlecLights

    SmartAlecLights Im a SmartAlec what can i say! Community Project Designer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    S.A.
    Find Me On:
    connect the white up to the white down lights
     
  12. OP
    OP
    burner

    burner Full Time Elf

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Further to this, We have finally got around to ordering everything listed above (from my post) and are starting to work on the layout before the items arrive later this week (and before we finish plastering). Here is the layout I have so far:
    [​IMG]

    I'm just curious as to the power output section on the power amplifier (marked on image with a red circle), what's it for and what do I connect it to? The Amplifier has it's own power input source.

    The next question I have, is it possible to shift all the amplifiers to the manhole corner (for easy access in case of an issue)? This would mean that at the end of each strip, I'd need to run the 4 wires from the strip back to the amplifier (at the manhole) and then back to the next strip. The longest run would therefore be at the diagonal opposite corner. I'm not sure of the distance limitation with these LED strips? Is it the same as for the 2811's that I use in my display of around 5m before the signal drops off?

    We are using 14/.20 alarm wiring.
     

Share This Page